Home / University translation requirements
Translation Requirements at US Universities and Colleges
What 200 of the US universities and community colleges that enroll the most international students ask for when a transcript or diploma is not in English: whether a certified translation is enough, who may make it, and whether a credential evaluation is required as well. Every rule is taken from the institution's own website, linked, and dated.
200 institutions
Chosen from the Open Doors lists of institutions hosting the most international students.
Sources linked
Each rule links to the institution's own page, checked in October 2026.
$24.95/page
Certified translation, grades never converted, usually within 24 hours.
Institution by institution
Every institution below accepts a translation eVerbary can provide: directly, from a translator individually certified by ATA on request, or through the credential evaluation agency it requires, which in turn accepts professional translations. Checked in October 2026; policies change, and each page links to the institution's own source.
Universities (160)
| Institution | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Columbia University | Required with the original; GSAS notarized | Certified translator or service; Engineering: any service, notarized | GSAS: course-by-course after admission (WES, ECE, IEE, TEC) |
| Arizona State University | Required; literal and complete, with original | School, official service, ministry, EducationUSA; not you | Free in-house; ECE, FCSA, ACEI, Scholaro optional |
| University of Southern California | Word-for-word, mirroring the original | School or professional certified translator (graduate) | Not accepted for graduate admission |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | Required; original must accompany it | Licensed service, school, embassy; grad also ATA | None; do not send WES or ECE |
| University of North Texas | Native language plus English, every record | Issuing school or certified translator/agency | In-house; pages differ on accepting NACES |
| Purdue | Required ("certified") | Not restricted (undergraduate); Purdue also translates | Not required; reports not accepted as records |
| Boston University | Undergrad: notarized, with the original | Certified translator or service; undergrad: notarized | None for undergrad; WES ICAP for Public Health |
| UC Berkeley | Graduate: required, grades transcribed not converted | Certified translator, university or Ministry; Haas EWMBA: issuer | Not required; WES ICAP optional |
| University of Michigan | Required; Rackham: word-for-word, same format | Certified translator or service; Rackham also university, EducationUSA | No WES/ECE; grad uploads Scholaro GPA report |
| University of Washington | Official, same format as the original | School stamp or certified translator; grad adds services | Undergrad: none. Grad: WES ICAP only, not evaluations |
| Johns Hopkins | Required ("verified"); Engineering: literal, certified | Not restricted (undergraduate); Engineering lists agencies | Not required; Carey: NACES course-by-course |
| UCLA | Graduate: authorized, complete and exact | Certified translator or official translation service | None; outside evaluations not used |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | Certified, with the original-language document | Institution, certified translation company, government agency | In-house; outside evaluations not accepted (graduate) |
| Carnegie Mellon | Required ("official"), verified by counselor | Not restricted | Undergraduate: no. Heinz: course-by-course |
| Penn | Required ("certified") | Not restricted (undergraduate) | Undergraduate: no. Engineering: NACES if admitted |
| University at Buffalo (SUNY) | English translation; certified for some graduate programs | Any translator or service; Management: issuer or recognized service | None: UB converts grades; some departments differ |
| Cornell University | Official (undergrad); certified or notarized (grad) | Teacher or school official; otherwise not restricted | None; Cornell reads original grades |
| Georgia Tech | English (undergrad); word-for-word certified (grad) | Not stated | Transfers: NACES course-by-course. Grad: optional |
| Penn State | Certified, line-by-line, literal | Not stated | None required |
| Harvard University | College optional; GSAS professional, certified, literal | College: anyone but you. GSAS: professional | None; GSAS takes WES ICAP as alternative |
| UT Arlington | Literal, word-for-word, uploaded to FCSA | Disinterested third party, e.g. professional company | FCSA required for all foreign transcripts ($90) |
| Texas A&M | Official English, with seals and signatures | Your school or a recognized translator | NACES strongly recommended, not required |
| UC Irvine | Required for all non-English academic documents | International school or certified translator | Not used; UC specialists evaluate |
| University of Chicago | Required: official or certified, with grading scale | Not restricted; graduate: bilingual professional | Not required |
| Duke University | Required, with the original documents | Official or professional service; EducationUSA; school | Not required; WES/ECE optional (grad) |
| Ohio State | Required; graduate: certified word-for-word | School, authorized translator, teacher; grad: certified translator | Not required |
| UT Austin | Required: complete and official, with the original | Not restricted | Not required; graduate: outside evaluations not accepted |
| UC Davis | Graduate: original and English in one PDF | University, government agency or certified translation agency | Not required; WES/IERF/ECE optional for grad |
| University of South Florida | Certified; word-for-word for final records | Certified translator; USF recommends the ATA directory | First-year: no. NACES for some programs |
| Northwestern University | Certified; graduate: official, by a neutral third party | Any translation service, home country included | Not required; TGS suggests ECE/WES if unlisted |
| University of Maryland, College Park | Certified; graduate: literal and certified | Undergraduate: not stated. Graduate: institution or professional service | College work: ECE or Josef Silny only |
| University of Florida | Word-for-word certified; graduate line-for-line | Undergraduate not stated; graduate: institution or professional service | NACES course-by-course for undergraduates; graduate optional |
| University of Cincinnati | Certified English translation; format varies by country | Professional; no government agency needed | Transfer and graduate: NACES |
| Rutgers University–New Brunswick | Required, on the translator's letterhead | Language professor or professional translator | Undergraduate: none stated. Graduate: by program |
| University of Minnesota Twin Cities | Certified, true (word-for-word) | Not limited; grad: any professional certified service | None: evaluated in house |
| University of Central Missouri | Required (English translation) | Not restricted | In-house; NACES list optional or if asked |
| Webster University | Required (certified) | Professional translator; not friends or professors | None named |
| Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) | Required (certified) | Not restricted | None; SCAD applies AACRAO standards |
| Northwest Missouri State University | Required ("certified", catalog "official") | Not stated | None; Northwest evaluates, with mark sheets and syllabi |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | Required ("official English translation") | An official translation service (catalog) | Catalog: document-by-document or course-by-course |
| Minnesota State University, Mankato | Required ("translated into English") | Not stated | Credit: ECE. Graduate: NACES detailed |
| Southeast Missouri State University | Required, same format as the original | Translation agency, stamped by a qualified translator | Optional (NACES or AICE) in specific cases |
| Youngstown State University | Official translation (transfer credit, graduate) | Not stated | Required: NACES course-by-course |
| UM-Dearborn | Word-for-word, same format as original | Not restricted; grad: professional licensed accepted | Optional (in-house); transfer and MAT: agency |
| UIS | Certified translation required | Approved list: ATA, school, ministry, NACES, consulate | Required: UIS in-house ($150) or NACES |
| EIU | Official English translation | Not stated | Not to apply; agency for transfer credit |
| WIU | Precise word-for-word | Not stated | Graduate: WES, TEC or IEE; others on request |
| University of Central Oklahoma | Official or certified English translation | Not stated | None; UCO reviews syllabi and converts grades |
| The University of Tampa | Certified English translation | Not stated | Graduate: recommended. Credit: Silny or similar, if asked |
| Weber State University | Certified English translation | Not stated | For foreign college credit: NACES or AICE (TEC) |
| Florida International University (FIU) | Certified, literal, with the original | Not stated; grad: official service or accredited translator | First-year: no. Transfer/grad: NACES course-by-course |
| Florida State University (FSU) | Certified, literal, with native-language records | Not stated | Agency (NACES recommended), first-year included |
| Georgia State University | English translation with the original | Not stated; grad: issuer, else official agency | First-year in-house; transfer NACES; grad by college |
| Emory University | Graduate: translated and notarized | Not stated | Optional; some programs strongly recommend NACES |
| University of Georgia | English-translated; graduate: certified, word-for-word | Not stated; graduate: authorized certified translator | First-year: no. Non-accredited transfer: course-by-course |
| Illinois Institute of Technology | Certified (undergrad); professional (graduate) | Not stated; graduate recommends ATA translator | Graduate: in-house. Transfer credit: NACES |
| Syracuse University | Required; graduate: registrar-notarized | Reputable translation service; graduate: issuing registrar | Undergrad: no. Graduate: optional WES |
| MIT | All materials in English | Professional service or your teacher; not you | Not required |
| UMass Amherst | Certified; official for transfer and graduate | Not stated | Undergrad: no. Graduate: translation or NACES |
| Central Michigan University | Certified English translation | Not stated | Not required; free in-house credit review |
| UMBC | Certified English translation | Not stated | Transfer: NACES course-by-course. Grad: WES ICAP optional |
| Stevens Institute of Technology | Certified; word-for-word for Ph.D. | Not limited; Ph.D.: certified English translator | First-year: no. Transfers: WES, ECE, TEC or NACES |
| NJIT | Certified (transfers); syllabi certified | An agency; any certified translation agency for syllabi | First-year: no. Transfer credit: NACES (WES) |
| Princeton University | Official; certified for graduate final transcripts | School official or third party; translator (graduate) | None; CSSD verification for China (graduate) |
| Rowan University | Certified English translation, all records | Not stated | Optional; Rowan evaluates free; NACES accepted |
| Yale University | Certified; notarized at SOM and YSE | Not stated; not the applicant | Not required; WES optional at GSAS |
| University of Connecticut | Required (official, certified) | Not restricted | Transfer: recommended. Graduate: NACES/AICE, by program |
| Sacred Heart University | Course descriptions: certified translation | An official translator | For credit: WES, ECE, FIS, TEC or NACES |
| University of Bridgeport | Required (word for word, same format) | Bona fide translating agency, home or U.S. | Only some programs, course-by-course |
| The George Washington University | Required (certified), with originals | Not restricted (Iran: Ministry of Justice) | Transfer: NACES per Bulletin |
| Georgetown University | Required, with the originals | Not restricted; graduate: professional translator | Graduate: WES/NACES encouraged, some require |
| American University | Certified, notarized or official, with original | Grad: certified translation agencies, universities, embassies | Not required; WES, ECE, AACRAO optional |
| George Mason University | Certified; graduate: literal, word-for-word | Professional service or the school; never self | Transfer: named agencies or NACES |
| Virginia Tech | Certified, with original-language document | Not restricted | Transfer: professional evaluation service |
| University of Virginia | English translation; Darden: literal | GSAS: issuer, evaluators, ATA-certified service | Not asked for; Architecture encourages NACES |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | Official English translation; no notarized copies | Not restricted; Pharm.D.: WES | Transfer credit: NACES or AICE |
| NC State | Required (English translation) | Issuing school, Ministry of Education or certified translator | First-year: no. Transfer: WES or ECE course-by-course |
| UNC Charlotte | Graduate: English or certified company translation | Certified translation company (graduate) | Undergraduate: NACES required. Graduate: usually not |
| UNC-Chapel Hill | Official (undergraduate); certified (graduate) | Not stated | WES ICAP after enrolling, for credit |
| Cleveland State University | Certified English (graduate); undergraduate not stated | Not stated | Required: TEC/SpanTran, ECE or WES |
| Kent State University | Certified, literal, with the original | Not stated | Not accepted; Kent State evaluates itself |
| Case Western Reserve University | Required, records and recommendations | Not named; grad rejects self or nonprofessional | Grad: NACES course-by-course suggested, optional |
| University of Pittsburgh | Required ("certified", "literal") | Not named | Transfers: US-based service (WES, ECE, TEC, JS&A) |
| Drexel University | Required; notarized for transfers and unlisted countries | Not named | NACES recommended for transfer; required for nursing |
| Washington University in St. Louis | Certified, of all academic documents | Not named; McKelvey grad: professional service | Undergraduate: none named; grad optional |
| Saint Louis University | Required ("English"; graduate: "certified") | Not named | Accepted; required in some cases (MBA: WES/ECE) |
| University of Arizona | Required for all international documents | Undergrad: list incl. ATA members; grad: issuer | Not required; WES/ECE optional for graduate |
| NAU | Certified English translation | Not stated | NACES optional; required for Nigeria |
| CU Boulder | Literal, certified (or official) | School, government or professional, by country | In-house; WES/ECE not accepted |
| Colorado State University | Certified literal English translation | Not stated | Not required |
| CU Denver | Certified English translation | No preferred provider; ATA member company suggested | Undergrad: none. Grad: in-house or ECE/WES |
| University of Utah | Certified English, with originals | Any service you choose; none approved | In-house; agency report may replace translation |
| UNLV | Word-for-word, certified, signed | Approved professional service or official bodies | In-house; NACES optional |
| Washington State University | Translation plus the original | Not stated (undergraduate) | In-house; none required |
| Oregon State University | Literal English, with the native-language record | Any qualified translator | None required |
| Iowa State University | Certified; literal, word-for-word (graduate) | Any qualified translator | Undergraduate: no. Graduate: optional WES/ECE/IEE |
| Wichita State University | Official, same format as the original | Qualified translator; not the student | Not required |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City | Exact line-by-line English translation | Not stated | IERF verification of records after admission |
| Indiana University Indianapolis | Original plus English translation | Official translation agency (pages differ) | Undergraduate: not needed |
| University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee | English translation with the original | Not stated | Not required; UWM evaluates |
| UAB (Alabama at Birmingham) | Required: all documents in English | Not restricted; articulation: home school or ATA-certified | UAB in-house ($100 graduate) or NACES |
| University of Memphis | Required: official English translation (catalog) | Not restricted | Transfer credit: NACES or AICE course-by-course |
| Vanderbilt University | Required, including recommendation letters | High school, certified translator or professional service | Optional; Registrar recommends course-by-course after admission |
| LSU | Required ("official English translation") | Not named (grad catalog: school, licensed, ATA member) | Undergraduate: in-house. Graduate: NACES accepted |
| Louisiana Tech University | Graduate: English translation. Undergraduate: not stated | Not named | Undergraduate: in-house. Graduate: NACES |
| UL Lafayette | Required ("official"; graduate: "literal/exact") | American Translators Association (undergraduate) | NACES optional. Graduate: free in-house |
| Mississippi State University | Required ("certified, translated copies") | Not named | NACES (TEC, MyIEE); catalog: WES ICAP |
| University of Southern Mississippi | Graduate: certified English translations | Not restricted | Transfers: NACES course-by-course |
| University of Mississippi | Graduate: English translation required | Not restricted | Not required |
| Auburn University | Graduate: certified English translation of each | Not restricted | Undergraduate: independent evaluator, WES preferred |
| The University of Alabama | Required (word-for-word for graduate) | Not restricted; ATA suggested | Undergraduate: NACES course-by-course. Graduate: none |
| Troy University | Required (English translation, PDF) | Not stated; graduate catalog stricter | Transfer: Troy or NACES. Graduate: may be required |
| University of Kentucky | Required: official literal English translation | Not restricted | WES recommended, not required |
| University of Tennessee, Knoxville | Required: certified literal English translation | Not restricted | High school: no. College work: NACES course-by-course |
| University of Kansas | English translation, per country list | Not stated | Not required; KU converts grades |
| Kansas State University | English (UG); certified (graduate) | Not stated | Not required |
| University of Oklahoma | Official or certified; word-for-word (graduate) | Not stated | Not required; OU evaluates |
| Oklahoma State University | Word-for-word, same format | School letterhead or translator's business stationery | Third-party evaluations not accepted |
| UA Little Rock | Certified or attested translation | Not restricted (China: issuing school) | High school: for scholarships. College, graduate: NACES |
| University of Nebraska–Lincoln | Certified, word-for-word, same layout (graduate) | Not restricted | Not required; in-house review |
| University of Nebraska Omaha | Certified English translation | Not restricted | NACES for foreign credit and graduate (from Aug 2026) |
| Purdue University Northwest | Certified, detailed English translation | Undergrad: not restricted; grad: issuing university | Undergrad: none, done in house |
| Concordia University, St. Paul | English translation (graduate page) | Not stated | NACES (undergrad catalog); IEE or WES for three-year degrees |
| Dartmouth College | Required; translator signs and dates | Any translator; Tuck: certified translation | Not required; WES optional at Guarini |
| Brown University | Official (undergrad) or certified (graduate), with original | Not restricted; school sends undergraduate records | Not required; SPS: WES, ECE or SpanTran |
| Rhode Island School of Design | Required before submission | "Approved translator" (no list published) | None named; Registrar reviews transfer credit |
| Southern New Hampshire University | Certified, for financial documents | Not restricted | Graduate: NACES or AICE; Bologna exempt |
| University of Maine | Certified English translation | Not restricted; graduate: professional translation | NACES for most undergraduates, unless exempt |
| West Virginia University | Literal, word-for-word; actual grades | Not restricted | Optional (WES); graduate advice only from WES |
| Wake Forest University | English translation, sealed original attached | Not restricted; Graduate School: university or WES | Undergraduate: none stated. MBA: WES or IEE |
| Catholic University of America | Certified English translation, with original | Not stated | Undergrad: SpanTran recommended. Grad: in house |
| North Dakota State University | Graduate: literal English translation, with original | Any qualified translator | Transfer: WES, ECE, SpanTran. Grad: preferred |
| University of North Dakota | Required for secondary transcripts | Ministry of Education or certified translator | First-year: no. Transfer and grad: NACES |
| University of South Dakota | Transcripts in English or with translation | Not stated | For foreign credit: WES, ECE or TEC |
| Portland State University | Exact English translation, sent with the original | Issuing institution or a professional translator | None; PSU converts grades itself |
| Seattle University | Certified English translation of each transcript | Not stated | None for undergraduates; graduate done in-house |
| University of Nevada, Reno | Graduate: word-for-word, certified, signed | Approved professional service or official | In-house; NACES optional |
| University of Denver | Required ("certified English translations") | Not stated | Undergraduate: no. Graduate: DU orders it ($50) |
| University of Wyoming | Required ("official English translation") | Not stated | Not required; NACES agency may send records |
| University of New Mexico | Required, with original-language records | Certified academic translation service (ATA named) | Not required centrally; optional NACES in some departments |
| University of Central Florida | Certified literal translation | Issuing school, government agency or ATA-certified translator | High school: UCF. College: WES, TEC or Josef Silny |
| University of Illinois Chicago | Certified, literal translation | Undergrad: ATA-certified; graduate: also agencies | UIC in-house ($100); no WES or ECE |
| University of Delaware | Undergrad: in English; graduate: required | Graduate: issuing school or ATA-certified translator | IERF only (not WES), for college work |
| University of Louisville | Notarized, verbatim translation | ATA-certified (web); university or government official (catalogs) | NACES course-by-course for college work |
| University of New Haven | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, TEC) | Set by the agency; TEC: ATA-certified | Required for non-English transcripts |
| Middle Tennessee State University | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, TEC...) | Set by the agency; TEC, GCE: ATA-certified | NACES course-by-course for college work abroad |
| Brigham Young University (BYU) | Through the evaluation (IERF or TEC) | IERF: professional service; TEC: ATA-certified translator | Required: IERF or TEC only |
| BYU-Idaho | Through the evaluation (IERF or TEC) | IERF: professional service; TEC: ATA-certified translator | Required: IERF (preferred) or TEC |
| Christian Brothers University | Through the evaluation (TEC, IEE); nursing: official | Set by the agency | NACES member if CBU cannot evaluate; TEC or IEE |
| Governors State University | Through the evaluation (NACES members, ACEI) | Set by the agency; ACEI: ATA-certified in US | NACES course-by-course; ACEI for foreign degrees |
| Lewis University | Through the evaluation (One Earth, EP, ECE, WES) | Set by the evaluation agency | Required: named agencies or any NACES member |
| Oral Roberts University | Through the evaluation (IEE; graduate: ECE, Scholaro, SpanTran) | Set by the agency; SpanTran: ATA-certified | IEE for undergraduates; course-by-course for graduate |
| Rivier University | Through the evaluation (NACES or AICE member) | Set by the agency; Scholaro accepts originals | Course-by-course, NACES or AICE; Scholaro named |
| Southern Arkansas University | Through the evaluation (IEE, WES, EP, SpanTran) | Set by the agency; SpanTran: ATA-certified | Course-by-course with GPA from four named agencies |
| Southern Utah University | Through the evaluation (TEC, WES, ECE…); syllabi in English | Set by the agency | College transcripts: TEC preferred, six others approved |
| University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, IEE, TEC) | Set by the agency | Graduate: NACES course-by-course; transfer: if asked |
| Utah Valley University | College: through the evaluation; high school: not needed | Set by the agency | College transcripts: TEC preferred, WES, ECE, IERF |
| Wilmington University | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE…) | Set by the evaluation agency | Any NACES member, in place of transcripts |
| New Mexico State University | Required, sent directly by the translator | Approved translator, home country or US | Undergraduate: NACES required. Graduate: only if program asks |
| University of Idaho | Official English translation, sent by the certifier | Not stated | None if on time; may be required if late |
State university systems (2)
| Institution | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| CUNY | Literal, same layout, on letterhead, signed | Agency, consulate, immigrant association, school, US professor | Optional: free UAPC or a listed agency |
| California State University (Cal State) | Certified; details set by each campus | Certified translator or service; SJSU undergrad: officials only | Graduate: Cal State LA and SJSU yes; CSULB in-house |
Art, design, business and health schools (3)
| Institution | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| MCPHS University | Through the evaluation (WES or ECE) | Set by WES or ECE | WES or ECE course-by-course, residents included |
| Babson College | Certified (transfer); official (graduate) | Not stated | Full-Time MBA only: WES, ECE or IERF |
| SAIC | Official; word-for-word (graduate) | Translation agency or university language department | NACES recommended (undergraduate) |
Community colleges (35)
| Institution | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College | Certified English translation | Certified translator or service | NACES or AICE, before admit term ends |
| Dallas College | Original plus certified English translation | Certified translator or service | Course-by-course for credit; list or Dean approval |
| Valencia College | Required ("certified" or "official") | Any official service, at home or in Orlando | High school: no. College credit: NACES course-by-course |
| De Anza College | Required ("officially translated") | Not stated | Credit only: NACES or ECE course-by-course |
| Orange Coast College | Not at first; may be requested | Not stated | Credit only: course-to-course, AA/AS only |
| Montgomery College (MD) | F-1/I-20: original plus certified English translation | Not stated; links commercial services, suggests embassies | Foreign credit: WES, ECE or JSA course-by-course |
| NOVA | English translation for financial aid and F-1 | Translator or service of your choice | Credit: only WES, IERF, ECE or FCSA |
| Miami Dade College | Certified English translation, with apostilled originals | ATA member (residents); certified translator (F-1) | Degree holders: NACES/AICE course-by-course |
| Bellevue College | Required (any, online accepted) | Any; licensed translator for credit | Not for credit; translation only |
| Green River College | HSC and credit: required | Licensed translation service (Registrar) | Credit: NACES course-by-course, with exceptions |
| Bunker Hill Community College | Required (stamp or seal and signature) | Translation agency; official translator | Credit and placement exemption: course-by-course |
| Seattle Central College | Required for under-18 transcripts, finances, credit | Not stated | For credit only: agency course-by-course |
| Shoreline Community College | Required for foreign credit | Professional service at home or in US; not you | Course-by-course; any NACES member |
| San Mateo Colleges (Cañada, CSM, Skyline) | Required; "certified" wording differs by college | Not stated | For credit only: NACES course-by-course |
| Edmonds College | Required: high school records, and credit from abroad | Not stated | For credit only: NACES course-by-course |
| Irvine Valley College | Required ("certified English translation") | Not stated | If requested; NACES for foreign university credit |
| Broward College | Required (ATA certified English translation) | ATA member or ATA certified company | NACES course-by-course for credit or bachelor's |
| Austin Community College | Required (certified English translation) | Certified translator, in the US or abroad | None; ACC evaluates foreign transcripts itself |
| Foothill College | Required ("officially translated into English") | Not stated | Only for credit: outside course-by-course |
| Santa Barbara City College | Required ("official" English translation) | Official translator or translating agency | Admission: no. Credit: AICE or NACES |
| Bergen Community College | Required for F-1 records | Certified translator | NACES for credit, aid and some programs |
| Hillsborough College | English translation required | Not stated (listed countries) | NACES unless your country is listed |
| Perimeter College (Georgia State) | English translation with the original | Not stated | High school in-house; college: NACES course-by-course |
| Pasadena City College | Certified English (F-1 records and bank letter) | Not stated | Degree credit only: IERF, ACEI or IESCAREE |
| Salt Lake Community College | English translation "may be required" | Not stated; syllabi may be self-translated | High school: no. College credit: TEC or WES |
| Portland Community College | Financial documents only (F-1); "official" | Not stated | Credit: NACES course-by-course |
| CT State Community College | Required; validated and notarized | Not stated | Credit: NACES or AICE, course-by-course |
| Wake Technical Community College | Required ("certified") | Not stated | Admission: often not. Credit: NACES course-by-course |
| Ohlone College | Required ("professionally translated") | Professional translator or service | Credit: course-by-course, WES recommended |
| Oakland Community College (MI) | Bank documents (I-20); "certified" | Not stated | Credit: NACES course-by-course |
| Houston Community College | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, FCSA, SDR…) | Set by the evaluation agency | Required: listed agencies; course-by-course for credit |
| Santa Monica College | Through the evaluation, for credit (FCSA, IERF, WES…) | Set by the evaluation agency | Only for credit: listed agencies, course-by-course |
| Diablo Valley College | Through the evaluation (any NACES member) | Set by the agency | NACES course-by-course, only for associate-degree credit |
| Tarrant County College | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE…) | Set by the evaluation agency | Any AICE or NACES member; mandatory for F-1 |
| Ivy Tech Community College | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE…) | Set by the evaluation agency | NACES: ECE, IEE, TEC, WES or IERF preferred |
Three patterns
A professional translation, and the university reads the grades itself. Illinois, Michigan, Penn, UT Dallas, ASU and Buffalo evaluate foreign records themselves; Illinois, Michigan and Penn say not to send a WES or ECE report, and Michigan's graduate school asks instead for a GPA report the applicant prepares on Scholaro. Paying for an evaluation these schools will not read is the most common avoidable cost.
A translation, and an agency evaluation for credit. Most community colleges here, among them Lone Star, Dallas College, NOVA, Montgomery College, Miami Dade and Edmonds, ask for a translation of foreign records and, separately, an evaluation from an outside agency, course-by-course when you want credit for study abroad. Some name the only agencies they take: NOVA four, Montgomery three; UT Arlington sends every applicant to one.
Rules about the form of the translation. CUNY and Rutgers want it on the translator's letterhead; Penn State asks for a literal, line-by-line translation; BU and Columbia ask for notarized translations, which eVerbary adds at checkout; USF and Broward point applicants to members of the American Translators Association, of which eVerbary is a corporate member. Each page gives the rule of the program as well as the university.
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For admissions and international offices
If your office would like its requirements described differently, or wants to pay for applicants' translations on an invoice, see eVerbary for universities or write to support@everbary.com.
Frequently asked questions
Do US universities accept certified translations from a translation company?
Every institution on this page does, in one of three ways: its published policy accepts a certified translation from a professional service; it requires a translator individually certified by ATA, which eVerbary provides on request; or it sends you to a credential evaluation agency that accepts professional translations. Each page says which, links the policy and gives the date we read it.
Is a translation the same as a credential evaluation?
No. A translation puts the document into English; an evaluation compares it to a US degree or GPA. Some institutions want only the translation, some want both, and a few want an evaluation that includes the translation. eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
Can I translate my own transcript?
Where an institution says, the answer is almost always no: the translation has to come from the issuing school or from a translator who is not the applicant. Check the page for your institution.
How much does a certified transcript translation cost?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words at eVerbary, certification included, usually delivered within 24 hours for one to three pages.
Is acceptance guaranteed?
Our certified translations are guaranteed to be accepted by universities, colleges and schools in the United States, or your money back. The guarantee covers the translation, not the admission decision or a requirement the institution sets for the original document, and it does not extend to evaluation agencies such as WES or ECE. Terms.
Translate your transcript
Upload a scan and see the price and delivery time before you pay.