Home / Universities / HCC
Holyoke Community College: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: HCC accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated; self-translation unofficial
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 26, 2026
Holyoke Community College asks international applicants for secondary and college transcripts officially translated into English, and those transcripts must also be evaluated by an outside credential-evaluating agency; it does not say who must translate.
Holyoke Community College accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary. The evaluation, from an agency on the NACES list for college work, is something we do not provide.
HCC at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
HCC asks international applicants for transcripts "officially translated into English" and does not restrict who translates (international students); a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation. Policy checked on October 26, 2026.
- Translation
- Required ("officially translated")
- Who may translate
- Not stated; self-translation unofficial
- Credential evaluation
- Required: outside agency (NACES for college)
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 26, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on HCC's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about HCC
Officially translated
Secondary and college transcripts.
Plus an evaluation
By an outside credential-evaluating agency.
Self-translation
HCC counts it as an unofficial transcript.
HCC requirements in detail
Translation
Secondary and, if applicable, college transcripts officially translated into English (Residency and international students).
Who may translate
Not stated; transcripts translated by the student themselves are classed as unofficial (course placement).
Evaluation
Required: transcripts must be evaluated by an outside credential-evaluating agency (Residency and international students).
College work abroad
All official transcripts go to an approved agency on the NACES list, with course descriptions when possible; the student pays translation and documentation costs (2026-27 catalog).
English
TOEFL 550 for all programs, unless supplemented by an ESL program (Residency and international students).
Deadlines (F-1)
November 1 for spring and May 1 for fall (Residency and international students).
A translation and an evaluation for international applicants
HCC puts both requirements in one sentence: international applicants, meaning anyone who is not a US citizen or permanent resident, complete the International Student Admission Application and submit statements of financial support and transcripts of secondary education and college officially translated into English, and those transcripts must be evaluated by an outside credential-evaluating agency (residency and international students).
Translate first, so the same certified translation goes to the agency and to HCC.
HCC's placement page explains what it treats as unofficial: copies of the original that have been opened, photocopied, or translated by the student themselves (waiving course placement). A translation you make yourself is therefore not an official one for HCC.
College credit from abroad: the student pays both
For post-secondary coursework at an international institution, the 2026-27 catalog asks you to send all official transcripts to an approved credential evaluation agency listed on the NACES website, to provide course descriptions whenever possible, and to pay all course transcript translation and documentation expenses (catalog).
Course descriptions are long documents; ask for a quote for them separately from the transcript.
To waive course placement with college credit from abroad, the placement page points to a NACES agency for a course-by-course evaluation; unofficial and official transcripts can be sent to admissions@hcc.edu for review (Waiving course placement).
Agencies set their own translation rules; see translation for credential evaluation.
Need a certified translation for HCC?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- Secondary school transcripts and diploma
- College or university transcripts
- Course descriptions for international coursework
- Statements of financial support
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to HCC
Send the translated transcripts with the International Student Admission Application, and have the agency send its evaluation; placement and credit questions go to admissions@hcc.edu (Residency and international students, Waiving course placement).
eVerbary delivers a signed PDF; we can also email the translation directly to the admissions office on request.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For HCC that means we translate your transcripts and course descriptions; the evaluation by an outside or NACES-listed agency is ordered by you.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Does Holyoke Community College require an official translation?
Yes. Transcripts must be officially translated into English (Residency and international students).
Can I translate my own transcripts for HCC?
HCC classes transcripts translated by the student themselves as unofficial (Waiving course placement).
Do I also need an evaluation?
Yes. Transcripts must be evaluated by an outside credential-evaluating agency (Residency and international students).
Which agency for college credits from abroad?
An approved agency listed on the NACES website, with course descriptions when possible (College catalog 2026-27 (PDF)).
When are the international deadlines?
November 1 for spring and May 1 for fall (Residency and international students).
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
Holyoke Community College's own pages, read on October 26, 2026.
Translating documents for HCC?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.