eVerbary

Home / Universities / Peralta Colleges

Peralta Community College District (Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney, Merritt): Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language

Yes: Peralta Colleges accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.

Who may translate: Not stated

  • $24.95 per page
  • Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
  • Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
  • See the price before you pay

How we know · policy checked on October 26, 2026

The Peralta Colleges (Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney and Merritt) admit F-1 students through one district office, which asks that every document be received in English: diplomas, transcripts and the bank statement, translated if they are not.

It does not say who must translate. The Peralta Colleges accept certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.

Credit for coursework from abroad also needs a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member, which we do not provide.

Peralta Colleges at a glance

Does it accept eVerbary? Yes

The Office of International Education asks for diplomas and transcripts "translated in English" and says all documents submitted for review need to be translated (application checklist, FAQ), without restricting who translates; a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation. Policy checked on October 26, 2026.

Translation
Required (all items in English)
Who may translate
Not stated
Credential evaluation
Only for credit: NACES course-by-course
Price
$24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
Delivery
24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
Grades
As recordedNever converted to a US GPA

Checked on October 26, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on Peralta Colleges's own page before you submit.

Worth knowing about Peralta Colleges

Four colleges, one office

The district issues the I-20 for BCC, Alameda, Laney and Merritt.

Everything in English

Diplomas, transcripts and the bank statement.

Highest level only

Submit the highest diploma and transcript you hold.

Peralta Colleges requirements in detail

Translation

All items must be received in English; diplomas and transcripts are submitted translated in English, and the bank statement with an English translation if applicable (Becoming a student checklist).

Who may translate

Not stated.

What to submit

The highest level for each item: proof of completion of high school or of college/university, and complete high school or official college transcripts (Becoming a student checklist).

Where to upload

Apply to one college through OpenCCC, then request the I-20 in the International Student Portal and upload the checklist documents there; the application is fully digital (How to apply for international students, FAQ).

Evaluation for admission

Not listed on the F-1 checklist.

Credit for coursework abroad

A course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member, kept sealed, after meeting a counselor; course descriptions or syllabi translated to English may be required (International transcript evaluation services).

Deadlines (F-1)

From overseas: November 15 for spring, June 15 for fall. Transfers already in the US: December 15, May 15 (summer) and July 15 (How to apply for international students).

One district office, one college on your I-20

The Peralta Colleges Office of International Education is authorized to issue I-20s for all four colleges, but you apply to only one: your I-20 must be at one college and your college and major must match, although you may take classes at the other campuses once enrolled (FAQ).

The steps are the same everywhere: an OpenCCC application to the college you choose, a welcome email with your student ID, then the I-20 request in the International Student Portal, where the documents on the checklist are uploaded (how to apply).

The application checklist opens with one line: all items must be received in English.

For academic records it asks for the highest level of each item translated in English: proof that you completed high school or college, and the complete high school transcripts or official college transcripts.

If your highest level is secondary school, translate the diploma and every year of the transcript; see high school diploma translation.

The FAQ repeats the rule: all documents submitted for review need to be translated into English (International education FAQ).

The bank statement counts too

Peralta lists the bank statement with the same rule.

It must be issued within six months of the application and show the bank name and contact, the date, the account holder, the account type and the final balance, with an English translation if applicable; you may submit more than one statement to reach the required amount (checklist, FAQ).

Translating the statement and its stamps together with your academic records saves a second order.

Credit for courses taken abroad

Admissions and Records gives credit for international coursework only after a course-by-course evaluation from an agency listed by NACES, paid by you.

It must show semester unit equivalency, lower or upper division, letter grades and the level of the courses.

Do not open the sealed evaluation, or it becomes unofficial; meet a counselor at your college before submitting a Request for Initial Evaluation.

You may also be asked for course descriptions, course outlines or syllabi translated to English (international transcripts).

Two limits apply: Peralta cannot apply international coursework to CSU GE Breadth or IGETC certification, and UC and CSU campuses decide transferability for themselves (International transcript evaluation services).

Evaluation agencies set their own translation rules; see translation for credential evaluation.

Need a certified translation for Peralta Colleges?

$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.

Documents applicants usually translate

  • High school diploma or leaving certificate and complete transcripts
  • University degree certificate and official transcripts, if that is your highest level
  • Bank statement, with its stamps and balance
  • Course descriptions, outlines or syllabi, if requested for credit

What an eVerbary translation includes

  • A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
  • Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
  • A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
  • $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.

Uploading the translation to Peralta Colleges

What we do not do

eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.

For the Peralta Colleges that means we translate your diplomas, transcripts, bank statement and course descriptions; the NACES course-by-course evaluation for credit comes from an evaluation agency.

How to order

  1. Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
  2. Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
  3. Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.

Frequently asked questions

Do all my documents need to be translated for the Peralta Colleges?

Yes. The FAQ says all documents submitted for review need to be translated into English, and the checklist says all items must be received in English (FAQ, checklist).

Who can translate my transcripts for Laney, Merritt, BCC or College of Alameda?

Peralta does not say who must translate (Becoming a student checklist). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary qualifies.

Do I need a credential evaluation to be admitted?

It is not on the F-1 checklist. You need a NACES course-by-course evaluation only for credit for coursework from abroad (International transcript evaluation services).

Can I apply to more than one Peralta college?

No. Your I-20 must be at one college matching your major, though you may take classes at the other campuses (International education FAQ).

Do I mail my documents?

No. The application is completely digital; paper is needed only for checks or if the admissions team asks for something specific (International education FAQ).

Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?

No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.

Sources

Peralta Community College District (Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney, Merritt)'s own pages, read on October 26, 2026.

Translating documents for Peralta Colleges?

Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.

$24.95 per page

Create Order

Related services

For firms and institutions

From the blog