Home / Universities / Oakland University
Oakland University: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: Oakland University accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated; SpanTran: ATA-certified
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 21, 2026
Oakland University asks applicants who attended a high school outside the US where instruction was not in English to submit a literal English translated copy with the transcript; it does not say who must make the translation.
Oakland University accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
College transcripts from abroad are read through a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member (most students use WES, ECE or SpanTran), and graduate applicants need a NACES evaluation too; we translate the records, the agency evaluates them.
Oakland University at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
Oakland University's international admissions page asks for "a literal English translated copy" of a foreign high school transcript without restricting who makes it (international admissions), so a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary meets it.
For college records, WES accepts a professional translation (WES) and ECE any word-for-word one (ECE). Policy checked on October 21, 2026.
- Translation
- High school: literal English translation
- Who may translate
- Not stated; SpanTran: ATA-certified
- Credential evaluation
- College abroad: NACES course-by-course
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 21, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on Oakland University's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about Oakland University
Literal translation
Foreign high school transcripts need one.
NACES for college
Course-by-course with GPA; general reports will not do.
Copies for graduate
OU never asks for the official foreign transcript.
Oakland University requirements in detail
Translation (high school)
If you attended high school outside the US and instruction was not in English, a literal English translated copy with the transcript from your school (International undergraduate admissions).
Who may translate
Not stated; the page names no translator.
College transcripts (undergraduate)
A course-by-course (detailed) evaluation from a current NACES member; most students use World Education Services, Educational Credential Evaluators or SpanTran (International undergraduate admissions).
SpanTran
Selects OU's preferred report (course-by-course, with GPA), gives a discount and sends a copy to OU at no extra charge (International undergraduate admissions).
Unofficial documents
Accepted by email to international@oakland.edu for first-year and transfer applicants; second-degree applicants must send official transcripts (International undergraduate admissions).
Graduate applicants
A NACES evaluation (often WES or ECE), general or course-by-course depending on the program, plus photocopies of foreign transcripts; OU does not require the official foreign transcripts (Graduate catalog: international admission requirements).
Undergraduate deadlines
Fall July 1, winter November 1, summer March 1 (International undergraduate admissions).
High school: OU reads your translation; college: an agency does
Oakland University splits international records in two.
A high school transcript from a school abroad where instruction was not in English comes with a literal English translated copy, and OU reads it directly; no evaluation is mentioned (International undergraduate admissions).
Literal means course by course and mark by mark, with the grading scale as printed, so the admission staff see what your school issued.
College or university transcripts from abroad, by contrast, must be evaluated by a professional credential evaluation service that is a current NACES member, and the report must be course-by-course (detailed); OU names WES, ECE and SpanTran as the agencies most students choose (International undergraduate admissions).
There the translation goes to the agency with your records, not to OU.
What each evaluation agency asks for the translation
SpanTran, now The Evaluation Company, is OU's preferred route: it selects the right report, gives a discount and sends a copy to OU at no extra charge (International undergraduate admissions).
It takes outside translations only from translators certified by the American Translators Association, or sells its own after your evaluation application is complete (TEC); see the ATA section below.
WES wants a word-for-word translation by a professional translator and refuses translations by applicants (WES).
ECE accepts any complete, word-for-word translation, including your own, and sells an $85 waiver under which it translates for its report only, without giving you a translation you can reuse (ECE).
Graduate applicants: photocopies and an evaluation
The graduate catalog asks international applicants for an evaluation from a NACES member organization; many use WES or ECE, and programs that need more detail may ask for a course-by-course report instead of a general one (Graduate catalog: international admission requirements).
Because the evaluator receives and verifies the official transcripts, Oakland University does not ask for them; you submit photocopies of your foreign transcripts with your application.
F-1 and J-1 graduate applicants also submit an affidavit of financial support and a notarized bank statement in US dollars (Graduate catalog: international admission requirements).
The catalog does not say whether a statement issued in another language needs a translation, so ask Graduate Admissions before you send one.
Need a certified translation for Oakland University?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- High school transcripts and diplomas from schools abroad
- College and university transcripts, for the NACES evaluation
- Degree certificates and mark sheets
- Bank statements for the financial documentation
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to Oakland University
Undergraduate applicants email unofficial transcripts, the literal English translation of a foreign high school transcript and English test scores to international@oakland.edu; financial documents are uploaded in the application portal (International undergraduate admissions).
For college work abroad, the translation goes to the evaluation agency with your records; SpanTran, for example, sends its report to OU (International undergraduate admissions).
Graduate applicants include photocopies of their foreign transcripts with the application (Graduate catalog: international admission requirements).
If you need a translator certified by ATA
Some offices accept only a translator who is personally certified by the American Translators Association (ATA). eVerbary assigns one on request, for the languages ATA certifies into English:
$34.95 per page
Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Arabic, Russian and Ukrainian
$44.95 per page
Japanese, Korean, Polish, Dutch, Swedish, Croatian, Danish and Persian
To order it, ask for a free quote and write in the notes that the translation is for Oakland University, which program it is for, and that you need a translator individually certified by ATA, plus anything else the office asks for (notarization, delivery by email to the office).
We confirm the price and the translator before you pay. ATA does not certify other languages into English, so no translator anywhere holds ATA certification for them.
For those languages we provide a notarized certified translation instead, at $44.95 per page plus notarization ($34.90 per order); ask the office to confirm it accepts that, and write its answer in the quote notes.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For Oakland University that means we translate your high school and college records; the NACES course-by-course evaluation is ordered by you from WES, ECE, SpanTran or another NACES member after the translation.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Who can translate my high school transcript for Oakland University?
OU asks for a literal English translated copy and does not name a translator (International undergraduate admissions). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary meets it.
Do I need an evaluation for my foreign high school?
OU's international page asks only for the literal translation with the transcript; the evaluation rule is for college transcripts (International undergraduate admissions).
Will a general evaluation do for undergraduate transfer?
No. OU requires course-by-course (or detailed) evaluations from a NACES member (International undergraduate admissions).
Do graduate applicants send official foreign transcripts?
No, photocopies with the application; the evaluation service verifies the official transcripts (Graduate catalog: international admission requirements).
Can eVerbary provide an ATA-certified translator for Oakland University?
Yes, on request, for example if you use SpanTran (The Evaluation Company). Ask for a free quote and write in the notes that the translation is for a TEC evaluation for Oakland University and needs a translator individually certified by ATA. ATA certifies Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Arabic, Russian and Ukrainian ($34.95 per page) and Japanese, Korean, Polish, Dutch, Swedish, Croatian, Danish and Persian ($44.95 per page) into English; no other languages.
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
Oakland University's own pages, read on October 21, 2026.
Translating documents for Oakland University?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.