Home / Universities / UH Hilo
University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: UH Hilo accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 26, 2026
The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo says high school and college transcripts not in English require a certified English translation, and that course descriptions for transfer credit must be in English or come with a certified English translation; it does not say who must translate.
The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Undergraduates need no outside evaluation, while graduate applicants need one from ECE, ICD, IERF, FIS or WES, which we do not provide.
UH Hilo at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
UH Hilo's international transcripts page asks for "a certified English translation" of transcripts not in English and does not restrict who makes it (international transcripts); a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that translation. Policy checked on October 26, 2026.
- Translation
- Required ("certified English translation")
- Who may translate
- Not stated
- Credential evaluation
- Undergraduate: no. Graduate: ECE, ICD, IERF, FIS, WES
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 26, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on UH Hilo's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about UH Hilo
Certified English
For high school and college transcripts not in English.
Descriptions too
Course descriptions for credit, in English or translated.
Three-year school?
You may need your junior high transcript as well.
UH Hilo requirements in detail
Translation
Transcripts not in English require a certified English translation, for high school and college records (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Who may translate
Not stated.
Course descriptions
For transfer credit, your college sends course descriptions in English or with a certified English translation (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Official delivery
Official transcripts sent directly from each school to the Admissions Office (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Evaluation (undergraduate)
None; admission is based on above-average performance, 75% in high school or a 2.7 GPA, and a 70% average for college transfers (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts, instructions).
Evaluation (graduate)
Required for international transcripts: ECE, International Consultants of Delaware, IERF, FIS or WES; transcripts in other languages with an official translation (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Undergraduates: certified translations, no agency
UH Hilo reads international records itself.
First-year applicants have the registrar send an official transcript and, where the country requires it, qualifying exam certificates; admission is based on above-average performance, 75% or a 2.7 GPA on a 4.0 scale (international transcripts, instructions).
Transcripts not in English need a certified English translation. If you attended a three-year high school, UH Hilo may also ask for your junior high school transcript, so translate that record too.
Transfer applicants with 24 or more college credits send official college transcripts, translated if needed; with fewer credits, they are judged as high school seniors and send secondary records as well (UH Hilo Admissions: international student instructions).
For credit, your college sends course descriptions, in English or with a certified English translation (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Where UH Hilo's pages differ
UH Hilo's application instructions list high school and college transcripts as an "official copy in English" (instructions), while its international transcripts page asks for a certified English translation of transcripts not in English (international transcripts).
If your school cannot issue an English version, the transcripts page describes the route a certified translation takes; ask Admissions if unsure.
Graduate applicants: an agency evaluation as well
Since fall 2008, every UH Hilo graduate applicant with international transcripts sends them for professional evaluation by ECE, International Consultants of Delaware, IERF, Foundation for International Services or WES (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
The transcript in the original language, with an English translation if the school provides one, goes directly to UH Hilo, and transcripts printed in other languages must be accompanied by an official translation.
Each agency has its own translation rule; see translation for credential evaluation.
Need a certified translation for UH Hilo?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- High school transcripts and, for three-year high schools, junior high records
- Qualifying exam certificates required in your country
- College or university transcripts
- Course descriptions, for transfer credit
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to UH Hilo
Official transcripts go from each school directly to the UH Hilo Admissions Office by mail (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts). eVerbary can email the certified translation directly to Admissions on request, or mail it in a sealed, signed envelope: choose the hard copy at checkout with the office's address ($19.95 Priority or $37.95 Express in the US) and write in the order notes that it is for UH Hilo.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
At UH Hilo that means the graduate evaluation comes from one of its five listed agencies; we translate the transcripts and course descriptions.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
What translation does UH Hilo require?
A certified English translation for transcripts not in English (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts). The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Do undergraduates need a WES or ECE evaluation?
No. UH Hilo's undergraduate admission reads the transcripts itself; graduate applicants need an agency evaluation (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Do my course descriptions need translating?
Yes, if they are not in English, to receive transfer credit (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Which agencies does the graduate division accept?
ECE, International Consultants of Delaware, IERF, Foundation for International Services and WES (UH Hilo Admissions: international transcripts).
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo's own pages, read on October 26, 2026. Enrollment figure: Open Doors 2025 fact sheet for Hawaii (IIE), leading institutions in Hawaii in 2024/25: number 5, with 119 international students.
Translating documents for UH Hilo?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.