eVerbary

Home / Universities / UTSA

The University of Texas at San Antonio: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language

Yes: UTSA accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.

Who may translate: Not specified

  • $24.95 per page
  • Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
  • Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
  • See the price before you pay

How we know · policy checked on October 21, 2026

The University of Texas at San Antonio asks international applicants for an official English translation of all documents they submit, and does not say who must make it.

The University of Texas at San Antonio accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.

College or university records from abroad also need a credential evaluation (FCSA is recommended for undergraduate transfers, and any NACES member is accepted), which comes from the agency, not from us; copies of your originals must be attested by your school, not by a translator.

UTSA at a glance

Does it accept eVerbary? Yes

UTSA asks that all documents have an official English translation and does not restrict who makes it (international admissions); a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation.

The agencies it names for evaluations, such as FCSA and WES, also accept professional translations (FCSA, WES). Policy checked on October 21, 2026.

Translation
Required for every document ("official")
Who may translate
Not specified
Credential evaluation
College work: FCSA or NACES; graduate: required
Price
$24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
Delivery
24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
Grades
As recordedNever converted to a US GPA

Checked on October 21, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on UTSA's own page before you submit.

Worth knowing about UTSA

Every document

All submitted documents must be translated into English.

FCSA recommended

For foreign college transcripts; any NACES member is accepted.

School attests copies

Copies attested by translators or notaries are refused.

UTSA requirements in detail

Translation

All documents must have an official English translation; each country has its own document list (International admissions).

Who may translate

Not specified by UTSA; it asks for an "official" translation (International admissions).

Evaluation (undergraduate)

None for secondary records. Any non-U.S. college transcript needs a foreign credential evaluation from FCSA (recommended) or any NACES member (catalog, admissions).

Evaluation (graduate)

All applicants with coursework outside the US need an evaluation by NACES or another UTSA-approved agency, received by the posted deadline (Catalog: international graduate admission).

Attested copies

When an original cannot be duplicated, attested copies are accepted only from the issuing school, the Controller of Examinations or Records, or the Principal; copies attested by notaries or translators are not (International admissions).

Where to send

Upload documents in the Common App or email them to the International Admissions Office; mailed documents go to the Office of Admissions, One UTSA Circle (International admissions).

Graduate originals

If admitted, official transcripts and degree certificates in the original language and in English translation are due before your second term; documents sent to the evaluation agency can count (Catalog: international graduate admission).

Translation and attestation are two different steps

UTSA's international admissions page asks for an official English translation of every document and, separately, sets a rule for copies: if your school or exam board will not issue a second original, an attested copy is accepted only if the attestation comes from the issuing college or university, the Controller of Examinations or Records, or the Principal, with signature and official stamp.

Copies attested by notaries, translators, department heads, lecturers or other officials are not accepted.

In practice, get the attested copy from your school first, then have the translation made from it. A translator certifies the accuracy of the English version; that certification does not make the copy of your original official, and at UTSA it cannot.

College work abroad: FCSA or another NACES agency

Undergraduate transfer applicants with credit from a college outside the US need a foreign credential evaluation for every non-U.S. post-secondary transcript; UTSA recommends Foreign Credential Services of America (FCSA) and accepts any NACES member (catalog).

Shorelight applicants are a separate case: UTSA accepts Shorelight's degree equivalencies and course evaluations for admission (Catalog: international undergraduate admission).

The agency needs the translation before it can evaluate. FCSA asks for a certified English translation and accepts translations from most professional agencies (FCSA); WES asks for a word-for-word translation by a professional translator (WES); ECE accepts any complete, literal translation (ECE).

Graduate applicants: evaluation first, translations by the second term

For graduate study, the catalog requires an evaluation by NACES or another UTSA-approved agency for any coursework taken outside the US, and warns that an evaluation arriving after the posted deadline does not guarantee a decision (Catalog: international graduate admission).

UTSA's pages name different agencies: the UTSA Online graduate requirements tell applicants to order an ECE evaluation from inside the application (UTSA Online: graduate requirements), while a graduate certificate page names FCSA or any NACES agency (Graduate certificate in Translation and Interpreting Studies: requirements).

We have not resolved that difference; ask the Graduate School which agency your program expects before you order.

Once admitted, graduate students must file official transcripts and degree certificates in both the original language and English translation before their second term; documents sent to the evaluation agency can satisfy this (Catalog: international graduate admission).

UTSA Online states the same rule as transcripts "recorded in English or officially translated" (UTSA Online: graduate requirements).

Need a certified translation for UTSA?

$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.

Documents applicants usually translate

  • Secondary school transcripts and diplomas listed for your country, such as the Bachiller or the Certificado de Ensino Médio
  • National or leaving exam certificates, such as the Indian 12th-year certificate
  • University transcripts and degree certificates, for the FCSA or NACES evaluation
  • Bank and sponsor documents, since UTSA asks for every document in English

What an eVerbary translation includes

  • A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
  • Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
  • A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
  • $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.

Uploading the translation to UTSA

  • Undergraduates upload the original-language documents and their translations in the Common App or email them to the International Admissions Office; mailed documents go to the Office of Admissions, One UTSA Circle, San Antonio, TX 78249 (International admissions, catalog).

  • Graduate applicants upload transcripts in the UT San Antonio Graduate Application and have the evaluation agency report to UTSA; on UTSA Online the ECE evaluation is ordered from the application itself (Catalog: international graduate admission, UTSA Online: graduate requirements).

What we do not do

eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.

For UTSA that means we translate your documents; the FCSA, NACES or ECE evaluation is ordered by you from the agency, and attested copies of your originals come from your school.

How to order

  1. Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
  2. Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
  3. Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.

Frequently asked questions

Who can translate my documents for UTSA?

UTSA asks for an official English translation of all documents and does not say who must make it (International admissions). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation.

Can a translator or notary attest copies of my diploma?

No. UTSA accepts attested copies only from the issuing school, the Controller of Examinations or Records, or the Principal (International admissions).

Which agency should I use for transfer credit?

UTSA recommends FCSA and accepts any NACES member (Catalog: international undergraduate admission).

Do I need an evaluation for my foreign high school diploma?

Not for first-year admission; the evaluation is required for college or university transcripts from abroad (International admissions).

When do graduate students file official translations?

Before the second term of enrollment, together with the original-language transcripts and degree certificates (Catalog: international graduate admission).

Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?

No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.

Translating documents for UTSA?

Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.

$24.95 per page

Create Order

Related services

For firms and institutions

From the blog