Home / Universities / Southwestern College
Southwestern College: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: Southwestern College accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 26, 2026
Southwestern College asks F-1 applicants, including F-1 border commuters from Mexico, for the official high school diploma or certificate and, if it is not in English, a certified English translation; it does not say who must translate.
Southwestern College accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Credit for college courses taken abroad needs a comprehensive evaluation from a NACES member, preferably IERF, which we do not provide.
Southwestern College at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
Southwestern College's international admissions page asks for "a certified English translation" of high school documents not in English and does not restrict who makes it (international students); a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation. Policy checked on October 26, 2026.
- Translation
- Required ("certified English translation")
- Who may translate
- Not stated
- Credential evaluation
- Only for credit: NACES, IERF preferred
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 26, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on Southwestern College's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about Southwestern College
Fronterizo option
Mexican citizens near the border can study as F-1 commuters.
Diploma is the key
The high school diploma or certificate, with certified translation.
IERF preferred
For foreign college credit, a comprehensive NACES report.
Southwestern College requirements in detail
Translation
Certified English translation of the high school diploma or certificate if it is not in English (International students); the checklist says high school transcripts must include a translation (checklist).
Who may translate
Not stated.
Evaluation for admission
Not listed for F-1 admission.
Where to submit
All documents through the online F-1 International Student Application (International students).
Border commuters
Mexican citizens living within 75 miles of the border may apply as F-1 border commuters, full or part time; same transcript and translation rule (checklist).
Foreign college credit
Comprehensive evaluation from a NACES member, preferably IERF; the Evaluations Office decides equivalency (catalog, transfer of credit).
Limits on foreign credit
Major requirements only with a Substitution of Major Requirement Form; no credit for English or speech courses (Catalog: course equivalency).
F-1 and border commuter applicants: the diploma, in English
For admission, the academic document Southwestern College asks for is the official high school diploma or certificate, submitted directly to the college; if it is not in English, you add a certified English translation (international students).
The one-page checklists say the same thing for high school transcripts, which must include a translation if not in English (F-1 checklist).
Translate both the diploma and the transcript with every stamp and signature; see Mexican high school diploma translation or high school diploma translation.
Southwestern College is close to the Mexican border and admits F-1 Border Commuter/Fronterizo students: Mexican citizens who live in Mexico within 75 miles of the border and cross only on class days.
They may study full time (12 units) or part time (6 units), cannot work on or off campus, receive a new I-20 each semester, and show a lower bank minimum, $9,911 against $30,431 for F-1 students living in the US (border commuter checklist, F-1 checklist).
The college publishes the checklists in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
Credit for college courses taken abroad
Foreign coursework from an accredited institution can count toward a Southwestern College degree after a comprehensive evaluation from a NACES member, preferably the International Education Research Foundation (IERF).
You do not send the foreign transcripts to the college, because they already went to the evaluator.
The courses count toward major requirements only with departmental approval on a Substitution of Major Requirement Form, 3-unit courses may clear a general education requirement, statistics courses of 3 units or more may meet Mathematics Competency, and no credit is given for English or speech courses (catalog).
IERF asks for typed, line-by-line, word-for-word translations in the same format as the original, and says certified or notarized translations are not required (IERF rules). A certified translation from eVerbary meets that format.
Need a certified translation for Southwestern College?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- High school diploma or completion certificate
- High school transcripts
- Bank statement and affidavit of support from the sponsor
- University transcripts, for an IERF or NACES evaluation if you want credit
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to Southwestern College
Upload the certified translation together with the diploma in the online F-1 International Student Application, where Southwestern College asks for all documents (International students).
For credit, the translation goes to IERF or another NACES member with your university records; the comprehensive report then goes to the Evaluations Office (Catalog: course equivalency).
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For Southwestern College that means we translate your diploma, transcripts and bank documents; the comprehensive evaluation for foreign college credit comes from IERF or another NACES member.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
What kind of translation does Southwestern College ask for?
A certified English translation of the high school diploma or certificate, if it is not in English; it does not say who must make it (International students). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary qualifies.
Does the border commuter (fronterizo) application need a translation too?
Yes. The border commuter checklist asks for high school transcripts that include a translation if not in English (F-1 border commuter checklist (PDF)).
Do I need a credential evaluation to be admitted?
It is not on the F-1 admission list. You need one only for credit for college work done abroad.
Which evaluation agency should I use for credit?
A NACES member, preferably IERF, and ask for a comprehensive report (Catalog: course equivalency).
Will my English courses from abroad count?
No. Southwestern College gives no credit for English or speech courses taken abroad (Catalog: course equivalency).
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
Southwestern College's own pages, read on October 26, 2026.
Translating documents for Southwestern College?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.