Home / Universities / San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar
San Diego Community College District (San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar colleges): Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 26, 2026
The three San Diego district colleges admit F-1 students separately: Mesa College asks for high school transcripts officially translated into English, Miramar College for transcripts translated and evaluated by a NACES member, and City College for a NACES evaluation that shows your GPA; none says who must translate.
San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar accept certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary, and NACES agencies such as WES, ECE and IERF accept them for the evaluation.
Credit for college work abroad also needs a comprehensive NACES evaluation, which we do not provide.
San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
Mesa College asks for transcripts "officially translated to English" (Mesa checklist) and Miramar for transcripts translated and evaluated (Miramar guide), without saying who translates; City College requires a NACES evaluation (City requirements), and WES accepts a certified translation from a professional service (WES rule), as do ECE and IERF. Policy checked on October 26, 2026.
- Translation
- Mesa: officially translated; City, Miramar: via NACES
- Who may translate
- Not stated
- Credential evaluation
- City, Miramar: NACES with GPA; credit: NACES
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 26, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar
Three offices, three rules
Translation at Mesa; translation plus evaluation at Miramar; evaluation at City.
GPA on the report
City and Miramar want the NACES evaluation to include your GPA.
Six-week windows
City and Miramar take applications Sept. 1–Oct. 15 and Apr. 1–May 15.
San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar requirements in detail
Mesa College
High school transcripts showing graduation, officially translated to English if in another language; a comprehensive evaluation of foreign college transcripts if applicable (Mesa College: Spring 2027 application checklist (PDF)).
Miramar College
Original official transcripts from every high school, college and language school, translated and evaluated by a US company on the NACES list, with GPA (Miramar College: international student application guide 2026 (PDF)).
City College
Foreign high school and college transcripts evaluated by a NACES member, with GPA; official and evaluated transcripts in a sealed envelope (San Diego City College: international admission requirements).
Who may translate
Not stated by any of the three colleges; for an evaluation, the agency sets the rule.
How to apply
Mesa: the whole application as one PDF to SDMesaIS@sdccd.edu or in person (Mesa College: Spring 2027 application checklist (PDF)). Miramar and City: forms and original documents by mail (Miramar, City).
Deadlines
Mesa: June 1 for fall, November 1 for spring (San Diego Mesa College: international student admissions). City and Miramar: April 1–May 15 for fall, September 1–October 15 for spring (City, Miramar).
Foreign college credit
A comprehensive NACES evaluation, with the Request for Foreign Transcript Credits form; the district evaluates, in up to 90 business days (Miramar College: transcript evaluations).
Three colleges, three ways of reading foreign records
The colleges share a district but not an international office.
Mesa College wants transcripts of all secondary and college education filed with an English translation before it considers the application, and its checklist calls for high school records officially translated to English; an evaluation is listed only for foreign college or university transcripts.
Mesa wants everything in one PDF and tells you not to mail transcripts separately. See also high school diploma translation.
Miramar College asks for both steps: original transcripts from every high school, college, English language school and other program, translated and then evaluated by a US-based NACES member, with a GPA on the report.
It accepts only original documents, not copies, emails or faxes, and it does not admit applicants who already hold an associate degree or 60 semester units.
City College reads foreign records only through a NACES evaluation that shows the equivalent of a US high school diploma with a 2.0 GPA, delivered with the official transcripts in a sealed envelope.
What the evaluation agency asks for the translation
For City and Miramar, the translation goes to the NACES agency with your records.
WES wants an exact, word-for-word translation by a professional translator, such as a translation agency, and does not accept translations by applicants.
ECE asks for complete, word-for-word translations and lets applicants prepare their own; it also sells an $85 Translation Waiver, under which it translates internally for the report and delivers no translation.
IERF asks for typed, line-by-line translations in the same format as the original.
Because both colleges want the GPA on the report, order an evaluation type that includes it, and translate the grading scale printed on your records so the agency can calculate it.
Credit for college work abroad
Transcript evaluations are done by the district, not the campuses.
Foreign coursework can count toward a degree or certificate after a comprehensive evaluation, covering lower and upper division courses, from a NACES-approved service; you submit it to the campus Records Office with the Request for Foreign Transcript Credits form.
Even transcripts already in English need the outside evaluation, foreign transcripts are not required unless you want them evaluated, and evaluations take up to 90 business days (Miramar College: transcript evaluations).
Need a certified translation for San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- High school transcripts and the diploma or proof of graduation
- College or university transcripts and degree certificates
- English language school transcripts (Miramar asks for them)
- Bank certification and sponsor documents
- Grading scale printed on the records, for the GPA
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar
Mesa: put the certified translation next to the transcript in the single PDF you email to SDMesaIS@sdccd.edu (Mesa College: Spring 2027 application checklist (PDF)).
Miramar: the translation goes to the NACES agency, and the application packet with original documents is mailed to the International Student Program (Miramar College: international student application guide 2026 (PDF)).
City: the agency receives the translation; you mail the official and evaluated transcripts in a sealed envelope to International Student Admissions, A-241 (San Diego City College: international admission requirements).
For credit, the comprehensive evaluation goes to the Records Office (Miramar College: transcript evaluations).
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For the San Diego colleges that means we translate your transcripts and diplomas; the NACES evaluation with GPA that City and Miramar require, and the comprehensive evaluation for credit, come from an evaluation agency.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Does San Diego Mesa College need a credential evaluation for F-1 admission?
For high school records, Mesa asks for an official English translation; a comprehensive evaluation is listed only for foreign college or university transcripts (Mesa College: Spring 2027 application checklist (PDF)).
Who can translate my transcripts for Mesa or Miramar?
Neither college says (Mesa, Miramar). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary meets the requirement; for Miramar's evaluation, the agency's own rule also applies.
Which agency does San Diego City College accept?
Any member of NACES; the report must include your GPA (San Diego City College: international admission requirements).
Can I email my application?
To Mesa, yes, as one PDF. Miramar accepts only original documents by mail, and City wants official hardcopies mailed by the deadline (Mesa, Miramar, City).
How long does a foreign credit evaluation take?
Up to 90 business days after you submit the NACES evaluation and the request form (Miramar College: transcript evaluations).
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
San Diego Community College District (San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar colleges)'s own pages, read on October 26, 2026.
- San Diego Mesa College: international student admissions
- Mesa College: Spring 2027 application checklist (PDF)
- Miramar College: international student application guide 2026 (PDF)
- Miramar College: transcript evaluations
- San Diego City College: international admission requirements
- San Diego City College: international students
- WES: translation requirements for a WES evaluation
- ECE: documentation requirements
- IERF: required documentation
Translating documents for San Diego City, Mesa and Miramar?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.