Home / Universities / Howard CC
Howard Community College: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: Howard CC accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 21, 2026
Howard Community College, in Columbia, Maryland, asks F1 applicants for an official high school diploma or completion certificate with an English translation if it is not in English, and its catalog lists transcripts translated into English among the I-20 requirements; neither says who must translate.
Howard Community College accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary. Credit for college work done abroad needs a course-by-course evaluation from an outside agency, which we do not provide.
Howard CC at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
Howard CC's F1 application information asks for the diploma with an English translation if applicable (F1 application information), and the catalog asks for transcripts translated into English (catalog), without restricting who translates; a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation. Policy checked on October 21, 2026.
- Translation
- F1: diploma with English translation
- Who may translate
- Not stated
- Credential evaluation
- Foreign credit: course-by-course, listed agencies
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 21, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on Howard CC's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about Howard CC
Diploma in English
The diploma or completion certificate needs an English translation.
Bank statement in English
On bank letterhead, at least $44,000.
14 agencies listed
But many Maryland universities take only WES.
Howard CC requirements in detail
Translation
F1 applicants: official high school diploma or completion certificate, including an English translation if applicable (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)). The catalog lists official secondary or postsecondary transcripts translated into English (catalog).
Who may translate
Not stated.
Financial documents
A current bank statement in English, on bank letterhead, showing at least $44,000; salary letters, investment portfolios and cryptocurrency are not accepted (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)).
Foreign college credit
Course-by-course evaluation from an accredited international transcript evaluation service; Howard CC does not evaluate foreign transcripts itself (Transcript evaluation, agency list).
Where to apply
International (F1) Application for Associate Degree study online, with a $50 fee (Overseas F1 visa applicants).
Deadlines (F1)
July 1 for fall and December 1 for spring; no F1 applications for summer or winter, and deadlines are strictly upheld (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)).
Residents and other visas
Applicants with visa categories other than F1 submit the admissions application and their immigration documents; no translation rule is stated for them (International/immigrant admissions (other visa categories)).
What the F1 file asks for, document by document
Howard CC's F1 application information is a short list, and two items involve language.
The official high school diploma or completion certificate must include an English translation if it is not in English, and the bank statement must be in English, on bank letterhead, dated after March 1 for fall or July 1 for spring, with a balance of at least $44,000 (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)).
Each sponsor's affidavit must come with the sponsor's own bank statement, and the names must match.
If your bank cannot issue the statement in English, a certified translation is the practical way to meet that rule, but the page does not say a translation is accepted in its place; ask intlstudent@howardcc.edu first.
College transcripts are needed only if you studied at college level; US transcripts must be official (sealed, or sent directly by the school), while foreign ones go through an evaluation if you want credit (Overseas F1 visa applicants).
Fourteen agencies, and the WES warning
For credit from colleges outside the US, Howard CC publishes a list of 14 evaluation agencies, from Academic Evaluation Services to World Education Services, and says it accepts an evaluation from any of them, as long as you choose a course-by-course report (Overseas transcript evaluation services accepted by HCC).
The same page warns that many Maryland colleges and universities accept only WES, so if you plan to transfer to a four-year school, check with it before you pick an agency.
After the evaluation, you complete the online Transcript Evaluation Request Form, and a Transcript Evaluation Report is mailed to your home about four weeks after Howard CC has all your documents (Transcript evaluation).
The catalog adds that credit is generally not given for English composition or literature taken outside the US (Catalog 2026-2027: transfer students). Each agency sets its own rule for the translations you send it.
Where Howard CC's pages differ
The agency page says Howard CC accepts evaluations from any of its 14 listed agencies.
The 2026-2027 catalog says the course-by-course evaluation must come from a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES), and not every agency on the web list is one.
We have not resolved this; if your agency is on the list but is not a NACES member, confirm with Records, Registration and Veterans' Affairs before you order.
Need a certified translation for Howard CC?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- High school diploma or completion certificate
- Secondary school transcripts
- Bank statement and sponsor documents, if not in English
- University transcripts, for the course-by-course evaluation
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to Howard CC
F1 applicants submit the International (F1) Application for Associate Degree study online and then send the diploma with its English translation, the bank statement and the other required documents as the application instructs (Overseas F1 visa applicants, F1 information).
For foreign college credit, the agency evaluates the records first; then you file the Transcript Evaluation Request Form with Howard CC (Transcript evaluation).
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For Howard CC that means we translate your diploma, transcripts and bank documents; the course-by-course evaluation for credit comes from one of the listed agencies.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Does Howard Community College need my diploma translated?
Yes, for F1 applicants: the official diploma or completion certificate must include an English translation if applicable (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)).
Who can translate it?
Howard CC does not say who must translate (F1 information, catalog). A certified translation from a professional service meets the wording.
My bank statement is not in English. What do I do?
Howard CC asks for a current bank statement in English on bank letterhead (Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)). Ask your bank for an English version, or ask intlstudent@howardcc.edu whether a certified translation is accepted.
Which evaluation agency should I use for foreign credits?
Any agency on Howard CC's list, with a course-by-course report. If you plan to transfer within Maryland, Howard CC notes that many schools accept only WES (Overseas transcript evaluation services accepted by HCC).
Will my English courses from abroad count?
Generally not: the catalog says credit is usually not awarded for English composition or literature taken outside the US (Catalog 2026-2027: transfer students).
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
Howard Community College's own pages, read on October 21, 2026.
- Important information for International (F1) applicants (PDF)
- Overseas F1 visa applicants
- Overseas transcript evaluation services accepted by HCC
- Transcript evaluation
- Catalog 2026-2027: international and immigrant citizens
- Catalog 2026-2027: transfer students
- International/immigrant admissions (other visa categories)
Translating documents for Howard CC?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.