Home / Universities / Seton Hall
Seton Hall University: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: Seton Hall accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not stated; partner TEC: ATA-certified
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 21, 2026
Seton Hall University requires original transcripts and a certified English translation of any transcript in another language, for undergraduate and graduate applicants, without saying who must make it.
Seton Hall University accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Transcripts from outside the US or Canada also need a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member, which we do not provide; if you use its partner, The Evaluation Company, that agency takes outside translations only from ATA-certified translators, which eVerbary can assign on request.
Seton Hall at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
Seton Hall's undergraduate catalogue asks for "a certified English translation" and its graduate page for "certified English translations", without saying who must make them (catalogue, graduate requirements), so a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary meets it. Policy checked on October 21, 2026.
- Translation
- Certified English translation, originals
- Who may translate
- Not stated; partner TEC: ATA-certified
- Credential evaluation
- NACES course-by-course (or AACRAO)
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 21, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on Seton Hall's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about Seton Hall
Originals only
All transcripts must be original; nothing is returned.
No evaluation, no review
Applications without a required evaluation are not reviewed.
TEC partner
A custom, discounted Seton Hall application.
Seton Hall requirements in detail
Translation
Transcripts in other languages need a certified English translation (undergraduate catalogue); graduate: all credentials in other languages need certified English translations (graduate).
Who may translate
Not stated.
Originals
All transcripts must be original, and documents are neither returned nor duplicated (Undergraduate catalogue: admission). Graduate originals are sent by the issuing institution (International graduate application requirements).
Evaluation
Course-by-course, with course level and degree equivalency, from a NACES member for any transcript from outside the US or Canada; the catalogue also allows AACRAO (Undergraduate catalogue: admission).
Exemptions
US schools abroad, international schools with a US or Canadian curriculum, and partner or feeder schools need no evaluation; other waivers case by case (Undergraduate international and ESL applicants).
Recommended agency
The Evaluation Company, through a custom Seton Hall application at a discounted rate (undergraduate, graduate).
Graduate Nursing
TOEFL scores and WES reports for nurses educated outside the US or in another language, plus the NACES course-by-course evaluation (College of Nursing: graduate admission requirements).
Where to send (graduate)
Office of Graduate Affairs, Schwartz Hall, 2nd Floor, 400 South Orange Avenue, South Orange, NJ 07079 (International graduate application requirements).
Original, translated and evaluated
Seton Hall asks for three things for a foreign transcript.
It must be original; it must come with a certified English translation if it is in another language; and, if the school is outside the US or Canada, it must be evaluated course by course by a NACES member or by AACRAO, with course level and degree equivalency (Undergraduate catalogue: admission).
The catalogue warns that applications submitted without the evaluation are not considered for admission or transfer credit, and that applicants pay for the evaluation.
Graduate applicants have the original transcripts sent by the issuing institution, with certified English translations of any credential not in English (International graduate application requirements). Because Seton Hall neither returns nor copies documents, keep your own copy of each translation.
The Evaluation Company and its translation rule
Seton Hall recommends The Evaluation Company (formerly SpanTran) and links a custom application that selects the right evaluation at a discounted rate (undergraduate, graduate).
TEC says an outside translator must be certified by the American Translators Association, or you can order its own translation after your evaluation application is complete (TEC).
If you plan to use TEC, order an ATA-certified translation; see the ATA section below.
Any other NACES member is acceptable. WES, for example, asks for an exact, word-for-word translation by a professional translator (WES). Graduate Nursing applicants educated abroad or in another language need WES reports in any case (College of Nursing: graduate admission requirements).
Where Seton Hall's pages differ
The undergraduate international admissions page lists an official high school transcript that "must be in English" (Undergraduate international and ESL applicants), while the undergraduate catalogue says transcripts in other languages must be accompanied by a certified English translation (Undergraduate catalogue: admission).
We have not resolved this; a certified translation sent with the original satisfies the catalogue wording, and the admissions office can confirm what it wants for your transcript.
Need a certified translation for Seton Hall?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- Secondary school transcripts and leaving certificates
- College and university transcripts for transfer credit
- Degree certificates and other academic credentials for graduate study
- Nursing education records for the WES report (graduate Nursing)
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
Uploading the translation to Seton Hall
Undergraduate applicants apply through the Seton Hall application or, for first-year students, the Common Application, and send transcripts with the credential evaluation (Undergraduate international and ESL applicants).
Send the translation with the original transcript it belongs to, and to the evaluation agency under its own rules.
Graduate transcripts are sent by the issuing institution to the Office of Graduate Affairs, Schwartz Hall, 400 South Orange Avenue, South Orange, NJ 07079 (International graduate application requirements).
If you need a translator certified by ATA
Some offices accept only a translator who is personally certified by the American Translators Association (ATA). eVerbary assigns one on request, for the languages ATA certifies into English:
$34.95 per page
Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Arabic, Russian and Ukrainian
$44.95 per page
Japanese, Korean, Polish, Dutch, Swedish, Croatian, Danish and Persian
To order it, ask for a free quote and write in the notes that the translation is for Seton Hall, which program it is for, and that you need a translator individually certified by ATA, plus anything else the office asks for (notarization, delivery by email to the office).
We confirm the price and the translator before you pay. ATA does not certify other languages into English, so no translator anywhere holds ATA certification for them.
For those languages we provide a notarized certified translation instead, at $44.95 per page plus notarization ($34.90 per order); ask the office to confirm it accepts that, and write its answer in the quote notes.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
For Seton Hall that means we translate your transcripts; the NACES or AACRAO course-by-course evaluation, and the original transcripts themselves, come from the agency and your school.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and upload it with the copy of the original wherever the institution asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Who can translate my documents for Seton Hall?
Seton Hall asks for a certified English translation and does not name who must make it (catalogue, graduate). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary is that kind of translation.
Do I need a credential evaluation for Seton Hall?
Yes, for transcripts from outside the US or Canada, unless you attended a US school abroad, a school with a US or Canadian curriculum, or a partner or feeder school, or receive a waiver (Undergraduate international and ESL applicants).
Can I use AACRAO instead of a NACES member?
The undergraduate catalogue says transcripts may alternatively be evaluated by AACRAO (Undergraduate catalogue: admission).
Will Seton Hall return my original transcripts?
No. It requires originals and does not return or duplicate documents (Undergraduate catalogue: admission).
Can eVerbary provide an ATA-certified translator for Seton Hall?
Yes, on request, for example if you use The Evaluation Company. Ask for a free quote and write in the notes that the translation is for a TEC evaluation for Seton Hall and needs a translator individually certified by ATA. ATA certifies Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Arabic, Russian and Ukrainian ($34.95 per page) and Japanese, Korean, Polish, Dutch, Swedish, Croatian, Danish and Persian ($44.95 per page) into English; no other languages.
Will eVerbary convert my grades to a US GPA?
No. The translation reproduces the grades and the grading scale exactly as they appear. A GPA conversion is credential evaluation, which the institution or an evaluation agency does.
Sources
Seton Hall University's own pages, read on October 21, 2026.
Translating documents for Seton Hall?
Upload a scan of your transcript or diploma and see the price and delivery time before you pay.