Home / Licensing board translation requirements
Translation Requirements of US Licensing Boards
What 119 US licensing boards and credentialing bodies ask for when a nurse, physician, pharmacist, accountant, teacher or lawyer educated abroad submits documents that are not in English: whether a certified translation is enough, who may make it, and which evaluation agency the board requires. Every rule is taken from the board's own website, linked, and dated.
119 boards
Nursing, medicine, pharmacy, accounting, teaching and law.
Sources linked
Each rule links to the board's own page, checked in October 2026.
$24.95/page
Certified translation, grades never converted, usually within 24 hours.
Board by board
Every board below accepts a translation eVerbary can provide: directly, from a translator individually certified by ATA on request, or through the credential evaluation agency it requires, which in turn accepts professional translations.
Checked in October 2026; rules change, and each page links to the board's own source.
Nursing (23)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Board of Nursing | Through the agency (ERES, Josef Silny, TruMerit) | ERES: certified; Josef Silny: ATA-certified | CES report: TruMerit, ERES or Josef Silny |
| Alaska Board of Nursing | Certified English translation, every document | Not specified | CGFNS for temporary permit; optional otherwise |
| Arkansas State Board of Nursing | Through the agency (Josef Silny, TEC) | ATA-certified translator (agency rule) | CES course-by-course: JS&A or TEC |
| California Board of Registered Nursing | Certified translation plus BRN declaration form | Independent professional translator, not a relative | None; BRN reviews transcripts itself |
| Colorado Board of Nursing | Through the agency (NACES or AICE member) | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | TruMerit, or any NACES or AICE member |
| District of Columbia Board of Nursing | Through the agency (IEE, Josef Silny, CGFNS) | IEE: certified; Josef Silny: ATA-certified | Josef Silny, CGFNS or IEE |
| Hawaii Board of Nursing | Through the evaluator (ECE, Josef Silny, SpanTran…) | ECE: any word-for-word; JS&A, SpanTran: ATA | Six approved evaluators, sent directly to board |
| Illinois Board of Nursing (IDFPR) | Required, original and notarized | Fluent translator other than the applicant | CES report: TruMerit, ERES, JS&A, TEC, IEE |
| Kansas State Board of Nursing | Through the agency (IEE or TruMerit) | IEE: certified translator, not the applicant | TruMerit/CGFNS or IEE, sent to KSBN |
| Kentucky Board of Nursing | Through the evaluator (ECE, IEE, JS&A…) | ECE, IEE: professional; JS&A, TEC: ATA | Five approved evaluators, named reports |
| Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing | Through the evaluation (TruMerit, JS&A, TEC) | JS&A, TEC: ATA-certified; TruMerit: school | TruMerit, JS&A or TEC report to PCS |
| Missouri State Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (TruMerit or JS&A) | JS&A: ATA-certified in US; TruMerit: school | TruMerit CES or JS&A, under a year old |
| Montana Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (TruMerit, JS&A, IEE) | IEE: certified translator; JS&A: ATA-certified | TruMerit, JS&A or IEE only |
| Nevada State Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (TruMerit or JS&A) | JS&A: ATA-certified in US; TruMerit: school | TruMerit CES or JS&A, before the ATT |
| New Mexico Board of Nursing | Managed by the agency (JS&A, CGFNS, ERES) | JS&A: ATA-certified translator; CGFNS: school | Course-by-course, sent by the agency |
| New York State Education Department (nursing) | Required: qualified translation, notarized affidavit | Translation agency acceptable to NYSED, among others | TruMerit verification, or Form 2F from school |
| North Dakota Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (six recognized agencies) | JS&A or TEC: ATA-certified translator | Course-by-course, sent by the agency |
| Oregon State Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (EP, ECE, JS&A, TEC…) | EP: translation agency; JS&A, TEC: ATA-certified | Required; course-by-course, theory and clinical hours |
| Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation (TruMerit or JS&A) | JS&A: ATA-certified translator; TruMerit: school | Board-approved evaluator, report sent directly |
| Texas Board of Nursing | Through the CES provider | JS&A, TEC: ATA-certified; TruMerit: school | CES from TruMerit, ERES, JS&A or TEC |
| Virginia Board of Nursing | Through the evaluation agency | JS&A, TEC: ATA-certified; TruMerit, IEE: own | TruMerit, IEE, JS&A or TEC review |
| Washington State Board of Nursing | Official English translation of the transcript | Not stated; JS&A and TEC: ATA-certified | TEC, ERES, IEE, JS&A or TruMerit |
| Wyoming State Board of Nursing | Through the credentialing agency | JS&A, TEC: ATA-certified; others: school or own | One of eight listed agencies |
Medicine (35)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| ECFMG | Word-for-word English translation | Professional translation service; never the applicant | Primary-source verification with your school |
| Alabama Board of Medical Examiners | No own rule; ECFMG word-for-word | Professional translation service, via ECFMG | ECFMG; school emails Appendix A |
| Arkansas State Medical Board | English translation, official translator | Official translator; sent by the translator | ECFMG path under Act 498; FCVS accepted |
| Medical Board of California | Original certified translation, mailed | Translation agency with seal; ATA recommended | Translator mails it; Form MED from school |
| Colorado Medical Board | No own rule; ECFMG word-for-word | Professional translation service, via ECFMG | ECFMG and IMG questionnaire |
| Connecticut Medical Examining Board | No own rule; ECFMG word-for-word | Professional translation service, via ECFMG | ECFMG; documents only from the source |
| Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline | English translation of the diploma | A reputable translating organization | ECFMG certificate; FCVS accepted |
| District of Columbia Board of Medicine | Notarized English translation | A translation service acceptable to the Board | ECFMG; transcript from the school |
| Florida Board of Medicine | Literal translation, every stamp included | Translation company, ATA member or US faculty | ECFMG certificate; FCVS can supply copies |
| Georgia Composite Medical Board | Certified translation of non-English transcripts | Not specified; professional service qualifies | FCVS required; ECFMG for foreign graduates |
| Hawaii Medical Board | Accurate translation of degree evidence | School or translation service; not the applicant | Three FMG pathways tied to ECFMG |
| Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) | Original, notarized translation | Anyone fluent except the applicant | IMG limited license verified via MyIntealth |
| Medical Licensing Board of Indiana | Certified English translation of academic documents | Not specified; professional service qualifies | ECFMG certificate copy; FCVS optional |
| Iowa Board of Medicine | Complete translation of the diploma | Not specified; professional service qualifies | FCVS optional; ECFMG if school not approved |
| Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners | Certified English translation of the diploma | Not specified; professional service qualifies | FCVS required; ECFMG certificate |
| Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine | No rule of its own; ECFMG sets it | ECFMG: professional translation service | Permanent ECFMG certificate; FCVS required |
| Maryland Board of Physicians | No rule of its own; ECFMG sets it | ECFMG: professional translation service | ECFMG certification; FCVS and UA required |
| Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine | Notarized English translation | A United States translation service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS for full license |
| Minnesota Board of Medical Practice | Diploma copy plus translation if needed | Not specified; ECFMG: professional service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS optional |
| Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure | Certified English translation, notarized | A recognized translator | ECFMG status report; FCVS accepted |
| Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts | Through ECFMG certification | ECFMG: professional translation service, not you | ECFMG certificate; FCVS optional |
| Montana Board of Medical Examiners | Certified translations of all documents | Not specified; ECFMG: professional service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS accepted |
| Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners | Official English translation of transcripts | Not specified; ECFMG: professional service | ECFMG status report; FCVS accepted |
| New Mexico Medical Board | Through ECFMG; no board rule | ECFMG: professional translation service | ECFMG certification; FCVS optional |
| New York (NYSED) | Required, with notarized Affidavit of Accuracy | Official translation agency, among others | FCVS required for IMGs |
| North Carolina (NCMB) | English or verified translation (ITPE) | Not specified | FCVS for full license; ECFMG |
| Ohio (State Medical Board) | Through ECFMG; no board rule | ECFMG: professional translation service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS profile required |
| Oregon Medical Board | Official, word-for-word, on letterhead | Professional translating company, ATA member, faculty | ECFMG; FCVS optional |
| Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners | All documents, translation certified | Not specified | ECFMG certificate; FCVS for some licenses |
| Texas Medical Board | Via FCSA; provisional license: certified, word for word | FCSA: professional agencies; provisional: ATA-member agency | FCSA foreign education evaluation |
| Vermont Board of Medical Practice | Transcripts: original, certified, official | Not specified | ECFMG certificate; FCVS optional |
| Virginia Board of Medicine | All documents not in English, endorsed | Consul or professional translating service | ECFMG certificate or equivalent |
| Washington Medical Commission | Transcripts: official translation, if requested | Not specified | ECFMG certificate (replaces transcripts) |
| Wisconsin Medical Examining Board | No rule of its own; ECFMG requires one | ECFMG: professional translation service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS optional |
| Wyoming Board of Medicine | No rule of its own; ECFMG and FCVS do | ECFMG: professional translation service | ECFMG certificate; FCVS required |
Pharmacy (9)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| NABP FPGEC certification | Required, official word-for-word, signed per page | Professional service, any country; not the applicant | ECE General Evaluation Report for education |
| California State Board of Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; Board takes no transcripts | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | FPGEC certification (ECE report inside) |
| Florida Board of Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; verifications in English | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | FPGEE or FPGEC certification, TOEFL iBT |
| Georgia Board of Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; no Board rule | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | FPGEC certificate; US intern hours |
| Illinois IDFPR pharmacist licensure | Required, original and notarized | Anyone fluent except the applicant; certifies accuracy | FPGEC certificate; 1,200-hour clinical course |
| Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; no Board rule | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | FPGEC certification; 1,500 intern hours |
| New York (NYSED) pharmacist licensure | Required, original, notarized Affidavit of Accuracy | Qualified translator, e.g. translation bureau or agency | FPGEC certification; Form 2 from school |
| Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; no Board rule | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | FPGEC certificate sent by NABP |
| Texas State Board of Pharmacy | Through FPGEC; no Texas rule | FPGEC rule: professional service, not applicant | Full FPGEC certification before applying |
Accounting (CPA) (11)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| NASBA International Evaluation Services (NIES) | Required before processing; verbatim, same format | Any ATA member, your university or ministry | NIES prepares it ($250 CPA report) |
| California (CBA) | Through the evaluation (WES, NIES, IERF…) | Set by the agency; ACEI, JS&A: ATA-certified | CBA-approved service, course-by-course |
| Colorado | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, NIES…) | Set by the evaluator | NIES, NACES or AICE; US GAAS proof |
| Florida | Through the evaluation (NIES, Josef Silny…) | Set by the agency; NIES: any ATA member | Course-by-course, Board-approved service |
| Georgia | Through the NIES evaluation | NIES rule: any ATA member, school, ministry | NIES only |
| Illinois (ILBOE) | Through the NIES evaluation | NIES rule: any ATA member, school, ministry | NIES only; other agencies rejected |
| New York (NYSED) | Required with Form 2 if not in English | Translation bureau or agency; notarized affidavit | NYSED itself; NIES for exam only |
| Pennsylvania | Through the evaluation (WES, ECE, NIES…) | Set by the agency; JS&A: ATA-certified | One of six named agencies |
| Texas (TSBPA) | Required for all records not in English | A certified translation company | Board and UT Austin; no outside reports |
| Virginia (VBOA) | Through the evaluation (ECE, IERF, NIES…) | Set by the firm; ACEI, JS&A: ATA-certified | VBOA-approved firm, after you apply |
| Washington | Native-language transcript plus English translation | NIES rule: any ATA member, school, ministry | NIES only |
Teaching (34)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska (DEED) | Through the evaluation; no DEED rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | Original evaluation from a listed agency |
| Arkansas (DESE) | Through the evaluation; no state rule | Set by the agency; TEC: ATA-certified only | NACES or AICE; WES and TEC named |
| California (CTC) | Through the evaluation; no CTC rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | Course-by-course from the CTC approved list |
| Colorado (CDE) | Required, English ("authentic") | Not specified; certified service qualifies | NACES course-by-course, uploaded |
| Connecticut (SDE) | Required, notarized, all information | Not specified; certified service qualifies | One of six named evaluators |
| District of Columbia (OSSE) | Through the evaluation; no OSSE rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES/AICE, college or other-state evaluator |
| Georgia (GaPSC) | Inside the report; translations alone refused | In-house or certified translators (agency rule) | Six approved agencies, emailed by agency |
| Idaho (Department of Education) | Through the evaluation; license translation if available | Set by the agency (WES: professional) | AICE or NACES, course-by-course |
| Illinois (ISBE) | Through the evaluation report | Set by the service (WES: professional) | ISBE-approved list, sent with Form 95-31 |
| Indiana (Department of Education) | Through the evaluation | Set by the agency (WES: professional) | ECE, WES, Trustforte, IFCS or NACES |
| Iowa (BOEE) | Through the course-by-course evaluation | Set by the provider (WES: professional) | NACES or AICE provider |
| Kansas (KSDE) | Through the evaluation | Set by the agency (WES: professional) | NACES member; English test if needed |
| Louisiana (LDOE) | Through the evaluation | Set by the agency (WES: professional) | NACES or AICE member (since May 2024) |
| Massachusetts (DESE) | Through the equivalency report | Set by the agency (WES: professional) | NACES member or four listed agencies |
| Michigan (MDE) | Through the evaluation; no MDE rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES or AICE course-by-course report |
| Minnesota (PELSB) | Through the evaluation; no PELSB rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | Original course-by-course, NACES or AICE |
| Missouri (DESE) | Through the agency analysis, in English | Set by the agency; TEC: ATA-certified only | Analysis from one of six listed agencies |
| Montana (OPI) | Through the evaluation; no OPI rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES course-by-course, student teaching shown |
| Nevada (NDE) | Copy of translation inside the evaluation | Not stated; WES: professional translator | Course-by-course: NACES, AICE, GEG or IFCS |
| New Hampshire (Bureau of Credentialing) | English translations before the evaluation | Not restricted; WES: professional translator | NACES or AICE, detailed or course-by-course |
| New Jersey (NJDOE) | Through the evaluation; no NJDOE rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | Two-part NACES or AICE evaluation with GPA |
| New Mexico (NMPED) | Transcripts: evaluation; other documents: translation | Not stated; WES: professional translator | Course-by-course, sealed or downloaded |
| New York (NYSED OTI) | Through the evaluation; no NYSED rule | Set by the agency; TEC, JS&A: ATA-certified | Report sent directly by a listed organization |
| North Carolina (NC DPI) | Through the evaluation; no DPI rule | Set by the evaluator; WES: professional translator | International evaluation; replaces Form V |
| North Dakota (ESPB) | Through the evaluation; no ESPB rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES course-by-course; replaces transcripts |
| Oregon (TSPC) | Official translation of foreign credentials, when required | Not specified; "official" | NACES evaluation of foreign transcripts |
| Pennsylvania (PDE) | In the agency report (CSPG 5) | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | AICE or NACES course-by-course with GPA |
| South Dakota (DOE) | Through the evaluation; no DOE rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES or AICE course-by-course evaluation |
| Tennessee (TDOE) | Through the evaluation; no TDOE rule | Set by the service; WES: professional translator | NACES or AICE evaluation, emailed by service |
| Texas (TEA) | Through the evaluation; no TEA rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | Course-by-course, emailed by the evaluator |
| Utah (USBE) | Required, certified English translation | Not specified; agency rule for transcripts | NACES or AICE, course-by-course and degree |
| Vermont (AOE) | Through the evaluation; no AOE rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES member or another state's approved service |
| Wisconsin (DPI) | Through the evaluation; no DPI rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES, AICE, ACREVS, AACRAO or One Earth only |
| Wyoming (PTSB) | Through the evaluation; no PTSB rule | Set by the agency; WES: professional translator | NACES member, course by course, before applying |
Law (7)
| Board | Translation | Who may translate | Credential evaluation |
|---|---|---|---|
| State Bar of California | Required, with the original document | Certified translator | Admitted abroad: none. Others: approved agency |
| Connecticut Bar Examining Committee | Required with the foreign education petition | Official translator | Course-by-course report; ten listed companies |
| Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar | Official translation; no self-translation | Anyone but the applicant | ECE course-by-course, sent by ECE |
| Massachusetts Board of Bar Examiners | Written in or translated into English | Not specified | Board's own advance determination, no agency |
| New York State Board of Law Examiners | Required for any paper not in English | Certified translator; not the applicant | Board's own advance evaluation, no agency |
| Texas Board of Law Examiners | Required, with the original document | Disinterested third party | None; the Board verifies credentials itself |
| Washington State Bar Association | Certified English translation, every document | Not specified | None named; NCBE investigation |
Need a certified translation for your license application?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades, hours and credits exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA or equivalency.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload or print.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
- Notarization added at checkout ($34.90 per order) when the office asks for a notarized translation.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service or a licensing agency: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, we cannot send documents on behalf of the school or authority that issued them, and we do not file the license application.
Frequently asked questions
Do licensing boards accept certified translations from a translation company?
Every board on this page does, in one of three ways: its published rule accepts a certified translation from a professional service; it requires a translator individually certified by ATA, which eVerbary provides on request; or it requires a credential evaluation from an agency that accepts professional translations. Each page says which, links the rule and gives the date we read it.
Is a translation the same as a credential evaluation?
No. A translation puts the document into English; an evaluation compares the education to a US degree. Most boards for foreign-educated applicants want both, from different organizations, and usually in that order: the translation first, then the evaluation.
Can I translate my own diploma for a licensing board?
Where a board says, the answer is almost always no: the translation has to come from a translator or service that is not the applicant. Check the page for your board.
How much does it cost?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words at eVerbary, certification included, usually delivered within 24 hours for one to three pages. Notarization is $34.90 per order when a board asks for it.
Translate your diploma and transcript
Upload a scan of your diploma, transcript or license and see the price and delivery time before you pay.