Home / Credential evaluator translation requirements
Translation Requirements of Credential Evaluation Agencies
What 26 US credential evaluation agencies ask for when a diploma or transcript is not in English: whether they accept a certified translation from a professional service, whether you may translate it yourself, and whether the original must go with it.
Every rule is taken from the agency's own website, linked, and dated. For World Education Services see translation for WES.
26 agencies
NACES and AICE members and other evaluators that universities and boards name.
Sources linked
Each rule links to the agency's own page, checked in October 2026.
$24.95/page
Certified translation, grades never converted, usually within 24 hours.
Agency by agency
Every agency below accepts a translation eVerbary can provide: directly, from a translator individually certified by ATA on request, or through the credential evaluation agency it requires, which in turn accepts professional translations.
Checked in October 2026; rules change, and each page links to the agency's own source.
NACES members (16)
| Agency | Translation | Who may translate | Self-translation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Academic Evaluation Services (AES) | Required; certified, with original-language version | Certified translator, certification copy attached | Not allowed |
| IESCAREE (Center for Applied Research, Evaluation & Education) | Required; certified | US: ATA, court or federal certified translator | Not allowed |
| Center for Educational Documentation (CED) | Required; certified, with original-language documents | Not specified | Not stated |
| ECE (Educational Credential Evaluators) | Required, or $85 Translation Waiver | Anyone; word-for-word, same format | Allowed (not for NABP reports) |
| Educational Perspectives (EP) | Required; official or certified | Reputable agency or certified professional translator | Not stated |
| Educational Records Evaluation Service (ERES) | Generally required; certified | Not specified; outside certified translations accepted | Not stated |
| Foreign Academic Credential Service (FACS) | Required; official English translations | Not specified | Not stated |
| Foundation for International Services (FIS) | Required; preferably certified | Not specified | Not stated |
| Global Credential Evaluators (GCE) | Required; certified, with native-language documents | University, Ministry of Education or ATA-certified translator | Not allowed |
| Globe Language Services | Required; certified and notarized | Not specified | Not stated |
| Institute of Foreign Credential Services (IFCS) | Required; uploaded with the application | ATA-certified, or certified/sworn where made | Not allowed |
| International Education Evaluations (IEE) | Required | Certified translator; home-country university or embassy | Not allowed |
| IERF (International Education Research Foundation) | Required; line-by-line, word-for-word, typed | Professional translation; may be required | Not stated |
| Josef Silny & Associates | Required; professional, certified | US: ATA-certified translator; abroad: officially certified | Not allowed |
| The Evaluation Company (formerly SpanTran) | Required; certified, submitted up front | Outside translator must be ATA-certified | Not allowed |
| Transcript Research | Required; word-for-word, same format | Others: official translator or ATA member | French, Spanish, Portuguese only |
AICE members (8)
| Agency | Translation | Who may translate | Self-translation |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACEI | Required, line-by-line and word-for-word | In the US: ATA-certified translator only | Not allowed (ATA-certified only) |
| Alianza Academic Evaluations | Required, word-for-word, with the original | School, ATA member, non-US professional, or Alianza | Not allowed (nor friends or family) |
| Foreign Credential Evaluations (FCE) | Required, official and word-for-word | Professional service, embassy or university | Not stated |
| Foreign Credentials Service of America (FCSA) | Certified English translation required | Most professional agencies, university or government | Spanish only |
| InCred (NAIA) | Required, accurate and word-for-word | Anyone proficient in both languages | Allowed; certified may be required |
| International Evaluation Services (IES) | Official, literal, word-for-word | Not specified ("official" translation) | Not stated |
| Scholaro | Native language or certified translation | Professional or ATA-certified translator, recognized agency | Not allowed |
| Ucredo | Required, with the original-language scan | Certified translator, or Ucredo | Not allowed |
Other evaluators (2)
| Agency | Translation | Who may translate | Self-translation |
|---|---|---|---|
| IACEI | Required, with official-language records | ATA-certified translator only | Not allowed (ATA-certified only) |
| One Earth | Word-for-word, with the original language | Anyone; professional translation also accepted | Allowed in most cases |
Need a certified translation for your credential evaluation?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades, hours and credits exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA or equivalency.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload or print.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
- Notarization added at checkout ($34.90 per order) when the office asks for a notarized translation.
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, we do not order the evaluation for you, and we cannot send documents on behalf of the school that issued them.
Frequently asked questions
Do evaluation agencies accept certified translations from a translation company?
Every agency on this page does. Some also sell their own translations or let applicants translate their own documents; each page says which, links the rule and gives the date we read it.
Do I need a translation before ordering an evaluation?
For documents not in English, almost always: the agency evaluates the English translation together with the original or a copy of it. Order the translation first, then submit both to the agency.
Is a translation the same as an evaluation?
No. A translation puts the document into English; an evaluation compares it to a US degree or GPA. eVerbary translates; the agency evaluates.
How much does it cost?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words at eVerbary, certification included, usually delivered within 24 hours for one to three pages.
Translate your diploma and transcript
Upload a scan of your diploma or transcript and see the price and delivery time before you pay.