Home / Licensing boards / USBE
Utah State Board of Education, Educator Licensing: Translation Requirements for Documents in Another Language
Yes: USBE accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary.
Who may translate: Not specified; agency rule for transcripts
- $24.95 per page
- Usually 24 h for 1–3 pages
- Signed certificate of accuracy, PDF
- See the price before you pay
How we know · policy checked on October 21, 2026
The Utah State Board of Education asks teachers licensed abroad for a copy of their foreign educator license with a certified English translation, and for a course-by-course and degree evaluation from a NACES or AICE member that includes a certified English translation of the transcripts.
USBE does not say who must make the certified translation, so it accepts certified translations from professional services such as eVerbary; for transcripts, follow the rule of the evaluation agency you choose, and IEE and WES both accept certified or professional translators.
We translate the license, diploma and transcripts; the evaluation itself, and its delivery to USBE, come from the agency.
USBE at a glance
Does it accept eVerbary? Yes
USBE's License Equivalency Review guide asks for "a certified English translation" of a foreign educator license without naming who makes it (LER guide), and its application page asks for an evaluation that includes a certified English translation (Apply for an educator license), so a certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary meets it. Policy checked on October 21, 2026.
- Translation
- Required, certified English translation
- Who may translate
- Not specified; agency rule for transcripts
- Credential evaluation
- NACES or AICE, course-by-course and degree
- Price
- $24.95 per pageUp to 250 words, certification included
- Delivery
- 24 hoursStandard for one to three pages
- Grades
- As recordedNever converted to a US GPA
Checked on October 21, 2026. Sources are listed at the end of this page. Policies change: confirm on USBE's own page before you submit.
Worth knowing about USBE
License translated too
A copy of your foreign license, with a certified English translation.
NACES or AICE
Course-by-course plus degree evaluation, translation included.
MyIEE in 3 days
USBE lists a $20 discount and 3-day processing for Utah educators.
USBE requirements in detail
Translation
A certified English translation: of the foreign educator license uploaded with the application (LER guide), and inside the course-by-course evaluation of foreign degrees (Apply for an educator license).
Who may translate
USBE does not name the translator for the certified translation (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026). For transcripts, the evaluation agency's rule applies: IEE accepts certified translators, not the client (IEE); WES asks for a professional translator (WES).
Evaluation
A course-by-course equivalency and degree evaluation from a member of NACES or AICE, obtained before you apply (Apply for an educator license, LER guide).
Original or copy
USBE needs original evaluations sent by the provider; photocopies and printouts are not accepted, and evaluations attached to online applications are refused (FAQ). The license is uploaded as a copy (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
How to submit
The evaluation service sends the evaluation to transcripts@schools.utah.gov (preferred) or by mail; you upload the license and its translation in the License Equivalency Review application on SM Apply (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
No license in your country
If your country does not issue educator licenses, submit the cover page of the evaluation showing an education degree, or your degree plus at least one year of licensed teaching experience (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
Discount
USBE points to My International Education Evaluation (MyIEE), with a $20 discount and 3-day processing for Utah educators (Apply for an educator license, MyIEE).
Two translations, two routes
International applicants to USBE use the License Equivalency Review, which requires a bachelor's degree or higher and a valid educator license from another state or country (LER guide). Two documents in another language come up.
The first is your foreign educator license: you upload a copy, with a certified English translation if it is not in English, to the application yourself.
The second is your university record, which goes to a NACES or AICE evaluation service; the agency sends its evaluation straight to USBE.
That makes the license translation the one USBE reads directly. It has to carry your name exactly as on the license, the issuing authority, the subjects or levels it covers and its dates, so USBE can match it with the license areas it grants. We keep the original titles next to the English ones.
Where USBE's pages differ
The application page and the LER guide ask for a "certified English translation" without naming the translator (Apply for an educator license, LER guide).
The educator records page says foreign transcripts must be "translated and evaluated by an approved company", and the FAQ tells you to request the evaluation "including translation if needed" (records page, FAQ).
Read together, the agency is responsible for the translated record it evaluates. Some agencies translate for a fee; others, such as IEE and WES, also accept translations from certified or professional translators (IEE, WES). Ask the agency which it wants before you order.
Originals and the 3-day option
USBE treats transcripts and evaluation reports as official records: they come from the institution or the evaluation service, not from you, and USBE will not copy or forward them back (records page).
If you already hold an original evaluation, the FAQ lets you mail it with a self-addressed envelope for its return (FAQ).
MyIEE runs a USBE-specific application with a 3-day turnaround (MyIEE). The clock starts when IEE has everything, including the translation, so having it ready first saves days.
Need a certified translation for USBE?
$24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages. See the price before you pay.
Documents applicants usually translate
- Foreign educator license or teaching certificate, for the LER application
- University diploma or degree certificate
- University transcripts and mark sheets, for the NACES or AICE evaluation
- Verification of teaching experience signed by an administrator, if you claim experience
- Teacher training program records, where the license does not show the program
What an eVerbary translation includes
- A complete English translation of every page, stamps, seals and handwritten notes included, laid out like the original so each line can be matched.
- Grades, hours and credits exactly as recorded, with the grading scale the document prints. We never convert marks to a US GPA or equivalency.
- A signed certificate of translation accuracy on letterhead, with our contact details, delivered as a PDF you can upload or print.
- $24.95 per page of up to 250 words, certification included; 24 hours for one to three pages as standard. Regular clients who need it can get delivery in as little as 30 minutes, on request.
- Notarization added at checkout ($34.90 per order) when the office asks for a notarized translation.
Submitting the translation to USBE
Upload the copy of your foreign license and its certified translation to the License Equivalency Review application on SM Apply (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
Send the transcript translations to the evaluation agency with your records, following its instructions; the agency then emails the evaluation to transcripts@schools.utah.gov or mails the original to USBE Educator Licensing (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026, FAQ).
What we do not do
eVerbary is a translation service, not a credential evaluation service or a licensing agency: we do not issue evaluations, US equivalencies or GPA conversions, we cannot send documents on behalf of the school or authority that issued them, and we do not file the license application.
For USBE that means we translate your license, diploma and transcripts; the NACES or AICE evaluation, and its delivery to USBE, come from the evaluation agency.
How to order
- Scan or photograph every page of the document, front and back, including any stamps on the reverse.
- Upload it, choose the language and "certified", and see the price before paying.
- Receive the PDF, usually within 24 hours for one to three pages, and submit it with the copy of the original wherever the office asks for it.
Frequently asked questions
Does my foreign teaching license need a certified translation for USBE?
Yes, if it is not in English: the LER guide asks for a copy of the license with a certified English translation (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
Who can make the certified translation?
USBE does not name a translator (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026). A certified translation from a professional service such as eVerbary qualifies; for transcripts, also check your evaluation agency's rule.
Which evaluation agencies does USBE accept?
Members of NACES or AICE; USBE mentions MyIEE, with a $20 discount and 3-day processing for Utah educators (Apply for an educator license).
Can I attach my evaluation to my application?
No. The evaluation service must send it to transcripts@schools.utah.gov; evaluations attached to online applications are not accepted (International licenses FAQ, linked from schools.utah.gov).
What if my country does not issue teaching licenses?
Submit the cover page of your evaluation showing an education degree, or your degree plus proof of at least one year of licensed teaching experience (License Equivalency Review application guide, April 2026).
Sources
Utah State Board of Education, Educator Licensing's own pages, read on October 21, 2026.
Translating documents for USBE?
Upload a scan of your diploma, transcript or license and see the price and delivery time before you pay.